Ohio University

skip to main content

Summer Institute for Diversity Education

Dr. Francine Childs Diversity Leadership Award

Francine Childs Diversity Leadership Award

Nominations are open for the 2017-2018 Francine C. Childs Diversity Leadership Award

In honor of Dr. Francine C. Childs, the first tenured African American professor at Ohio University (OHIO) and longtime stalwart for social justice and equality, this award represents the most prestigious diversity honor bestowed upon an OHIO student. Recipients will be individuals who promote the principles of social justice, leadership, cultural diversity and service to the campus and/or region.

Dr. Francine Childs is Professor Emerita in the Department of African American Studies at OHIO where she has served in various capacities, including but not limited to curriculum chair (1974–1996), director of summer programs (1975–1978) and department chairperson (1984–1989). This award is named in her honor to recognize and celebrate her significant contributions to the university, her leadership in academia and her role as a change catalyst in the lives of OHIO students.

Selection Criteria:

Nominees should be undergraduates of junior or senior status and should have at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average. Student candidates can be nominated by any students, faculty, staff or alumnus. Self nominations are permitted.

Nominations should include a description of how the candidate has advanced institutional diversity and inclusion goals, including:

  • Evidence of leadership excellence in the advancement of social justice and equality within and/or outside the university
  • Evidence of commitment to diversity through campus and community involvement
  • Examples of encouraging and motivating collaborations to promote inclusively
  • Demonstration of creative or innovative work to advance the academic success or leadership capabilities for underrepresented populations (e.g. first generation college students, minorities, women in STEM, etc.)

The submission deadline is February 20th, 2016. The award recipient will be presented at the  32nd Annual Leadership Awards Gala  on April 6th, 2016.

Please enter your nine digit university PID number.

Ex: Arts and Sciences, College of Education

250 character limit

250 character limit

250 character limit