Academics and Related Humanities Programs

Ohio U
nversity Faculty Committee

NEH Regional Center Initiative

Web Crossing Gateway


ArcView Maps


The CRHC Advisory Board consists of representatives from various humanities constituencies in the Central Region

Ann Kovalchick (Center for Innovations in Technology for Learning)
 State Humanities Councils
IN: Scott Massey
KY: Charles Thompson
MI: Richard Knupfer
OH: Gale Peterson
WV: Ken Sullivan
 Regional Scholars
IN: Richard Pierce (History, Notre Dame U)
KY: Gordon McKinney (Appalachian Studies, Berea College)
MI: Susan Sleeper-Smith (Native American History, Michigan State U)
OH: John Hancock (Architecture, U of Cincinnati)
WV: Barbara Howe (Women's Studies, West Virginia U)
 Regional Research Centers
IN: David Bodenhamer (The Polis Center, Indian U-Purdue U Indianapolis)
KY: Philip Greasley (English; Extension Education, U of Kentucky)
MI: Russell Magnaghi (Center for Upper Peninsula Studies, Northern Michigan U)
WV: Lynda Ann Ewen (Center for the Study of Gender and Ethnicity in Appalachia, Marshall U)
 Regional Humanities Organizations
IN: Katrina Nelson-Thomas (Indiana Historical Society)
KY: Herb E. Smith (Appalshop)
MI: Linda Borish (Great Lakes American Studies Association)
OH: Keith Newman (Public Broadcasting Service)
WV: Kirk Hazen (West Virginia Dialect Project)
 Community Groups and Independent Humanists
IN: Representative TBA, National Road Welcome Center (Wayne County)
KY: Raymond Betts (former chair, Kentucky Humanities Council)
MI: Julio Cesar Guerrero (Labor Studies Center, U of Michigan)
OH: Rachel Barber (Wallpaper Project)
WV: Ancella Bickley (Independent Scholar)
 Representatives of Ohio University American Studies Committee
 Timothy Anderso n (Geography)
 Marilyn Atlas (English)
 George Bain (Archives and Special Collections Library)
 Beverly Flanigan (Linguistics)