Featured Stories

University consolidates offices that support persons with disabilities

As part of Ohio University’s commitment to providing an inclusive learning environment and workplace, the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost is pleased to announce the consolidation of offices that support persons with disabilities who are part of the University community, visitors and guests.

The newly created Office for University Accessibility will report to Dr. Elizabeth Sayrs as the vice provost for undergraduate education and dean of University College and brings experienced and dedicated individuals from the Office of Equity and Civil Rights Compliance and Student Accessibility Services to one office.  

Effective July 1, 2018, the Office for University Accessibility will become the single point of contact regarding the provision of reasonable accommodations for the public, employees and students as well as leadership and guidance to the University related to accessibility and inclusion. Student Accessibility Services will also be an integral part of this office.

The reorganization will create synergies by combining offices and roles related to assuring compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act and Section 503, 504 and 508, and the proactive planning that has been happening on campus around accessibility.

Dr. Carey Busch, who most recently served as acting dean of University College, will serve as the University’s ADA/504 coordinator and assistant dean for accessibility. In this role, she will be responsible for ensuring the University’s compliance related to disability and accessibility, as well as providing leadership to continue to enhance our accessibility and inclusion for people with disabilities.

Dr. Dianne Bouvier has been named associate director for university accessibility. In this new role, she will work with employees requesting accommodations in the workplace, arranging accommodations for members of the public attending events, supporting the implementation of the strategic plan, and providing consultation and training.

“Carey and Dianne bring a wealth of talent and drive to these essential positions,” Dr. Sayrs said. “These changes will help advance OHIO’s commitment to achieving our accessibility goals.”

As previously reported, complaints of discrimination based on disability status will continue to be referred to ECRC.

This story was submitted by the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost