Featured Stories

President M. Duane Nellis announces search committee for Ohio University’s next Executive Vice President and Provost

Ohio University President M. Duane Nellis sent the following message to the OHIO community on Monday, Sept. 25, 2017. 

Dear Faculty, Students and Staff,

I write this morning to share with you the names of the individuals who have agreed to serve on the search committee for Ohio University’s next Executive Vice President and Provost. This committee includes a broad cross-section of our University and represents the importance I have for the academic mission entrusted to our faculty, students, staff, administration, and our Board of Trustees.  It is my intention to recruit and select the next Executive Vice President and Provost to begin his or her appointment by July 1, 2018. 

I am very pleased Dr. Elizabeth Sayrs, Dean of University College and Vice Provost of Undergraduate Education, and Dr. Susan Williams, Professor of Anatomy in the Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine and Chair of Faculty Senate Finance and Facilities Committee, have agreed to co-chair the committee. The members of this committee are listed below. I want to thank these women and men in advance for their help with this important endeavor. I also continue to appreciate Dr. David Descutner, who is serving as Interim Executive Vice President and Provost, for his leadership and commitment to Ohio University during this period of transition.

As the search processes get underway, there will be opportunities for the University community to interact with finalists whom the committee invites to Athens for campus visits. I urge you to participate in this important part of the process. In the meantime, please join me in thanking the search committee members and in lending them your support.

Kind Regards,

M. Duane Nellis

Search Committee Members: 

  • Dr. Elizabeth Sayrs, Co-Chair; Dean, University College and Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education
  • Dr. Susan Williams, Co-Chair; Chair, Faculty Senate Finance and Facilities Committee; Professor, Biomedical Sciences, Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Dr. Hugh Sherman; Dean, College of Business
  • Dr. Jason Pina; Vice President for Student Affairs and Interim Chief Diversity Officer
  • Mr. Victor Goodman; Trustee
  • Dr. Dave Scholl; Trustee
  • Dr. Bob Frank; Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Dr. Bill Willan; Executive Dean, Regional Higher Education
  • Dr. David Thomas; Professor of Film and Vice Chair, Faculty Senate
  • Dr. Greg Kremer; Associate Professor and Department Chair, Mechanical Engineering
  • Mr. Tim Epley; Business Manager for Student Affairs; Administrative Senate Representative
  • Ms. Maria Modayil; President, Graduate Student Senate
  • Mr. Landen Lama; President, Student Senate
  • Ms. Sharon Romina; Chair, Classified Senate
  • Dr. Christopher France; Distinguished Professor of Psychology
  • Dr. Devika Chawla; Professor, School of Communication Studies
  • Dr. Laura Harrison; Associate Professor, Counseling in Higher Education
  • Dr. Edna Wangui; Associate Professor and Curriculum Chair, Geography
  • Dr. Dominique Duvert; Senior Lecturer, Modern Languages
  • Dr. Jenny Chabot; Associate Professor, Department of Social and Public Health
  • Ms. Laura Myers, Search Support; Chief of Staff to the Executive Vice President and Provost
  • Ms. Laura Risler, Search Support; Strategic Initiatives and Projects Coordinator