Featured Stories

University featured in Ohio Department of Higher Education video series

Ohio University President M. Duane Nellis and the Gladys W. and David H. Patton College of Education are featured in the newest episode of the “Higher Ed Highlights” video series, produced by the Ohio Department of Higher Education.

During a recent visit to the Athens Campus, ODHE Chancellor John Carey met with President M. Duane Nellis and toured the recently renovated McCracken Hall, home of the Patton College of Education, with Dean Renee Middleton and other representatives from the college.

“I look forward to working with President Nellis. He brings a wealth of experience to OU and a vision of making the university an even greater asset to the region, the state, and beyond,” Chancellor Carey said. “And I am extremely impressed with the work that has been done at the Patton College of Education. Ohio University is poised to be a leader in preparing our future educators.”

The $32.8 million renovation, completed in December 2016, was made possible in part through OHIO alumna Violet L. Patton's generous financial commitment to the college in 2010. 

“I greatly enjoyed the opportunity to meet with Chancellor Carey and his staff on the Athens campus last week and to showcase many of the highlights throughout our beautiful campus,” said President M. Duane Nellis, “I appreciate the Chancellor’s leadership in articulating the value of affordable, quality higher education and look forward to working with him in the future.”

In its video, ODHE also highlights their College Credit Plus program, one of several agency initiatives designed to make higher education more accessible and affordable for students. This year, OHIO is partnering with ODHE to help students and their families reduce college debt through GradReady, a program facilitated by Student Financial Aid and Scholarships. In addition, OHIO is focusing on several other affordability initiatives, including joining the Open Textbook Network and providing additional aid through the OHIO Signature Award Program and The OHIO Match.