Thursday, May 25, 2017

Light Rain, 60 °F

President McDavis

President Roderick J. McDavis

Photo courtesy of: University Communications and Marketing

Featured Stories

President makes call for honorary degree nominations

Deadline for submissions is Friday, Feb. 24

The following message was sent to the Ohio University community by President Roderick J. McDavis on Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2017.

Dear Ohio University Community,

On behalf of the Honorary Degree committee, I am requesting your suggestions for candidates to receive honorary degrees from Ohio University. Recognition with an Honorary Degree is understood to be a substantial honor. As stated on the Honorary Degree Committee page:
"Honorary degrees are awarded annually to individuals who have achieved distinction in scholarship, creative activities, professional pursuits, business, governmental, civic affairs, or particularly in service to Ohio University. While candidates from any field will be considered, persons who have attained broad recognition in education rank high among potential nominees. Outstanding benefactors of the University or distinguished alumni are also among those to be given special attention."
Additional details about Honorary Degrees and the process of evaluation, as well as a nomination form, are provided on this link: https://www.ohio.edu/standingcommittees/committee.cfm?customel_datapageid_1748687=1749803
The deadline for submissions is Friday, Feb. 24, 2017. If you have questions about a nomination, feel free to contact any of the committee members:
Committee Roster

Charles Smith '18 Chair (Theater) smithc4@ohio.edu
Alyssa Bernstein, '18 (Philosophy) bernstei@ohio.edu
David Drabold '17 (Distinguished Professor) drabold@ohio.edu
Bayyinah S. Jeffries, '19 (A&S, African American Studies) jeffrieb@ohio.edu

Undergraduate Student
Paige Wilson, '17

Graduate Student
Christopher Glick, '17

Martha Bishop, '18 (Environmental and Plant Biology) bishopm@ohio.edu
Jennifer Maskiell, '19 (Housing and Residence Life) flowersj@ohio.edu

I encourage you to nominate worthy people for this significant Ohio University honor. We appreciate your help!
Roderick J. McDavis