Sunday, Aug 25, 2019

Partly Cloudy, 77 °F

Roderick J. McDavis

President Roderick J. McDavis

Photo courtesy of: University Communications and Marketing

Featured Stories

President McDavis calls for Distinguished Professor nominations

In a message sent to Ohio University faculty and staff on Nov. 25, President Roderick J. McDavis called for nominations for Distinguished Professor.

Dear Colleagues,

One of the most cherished University endowments, established in the 1950s by Mr. Edwin L. Kennedy, is the Baker Fund, which supports the Kennedy Lecture Series and the Distinguished Professor Program. Current income from this restricted endowment supports the appointment of a new Distinguished Professor each year.
The Distinguished Professors elect faculty who are deserving of this high recognition as members. A screening committee, consisting of the five most-recently elected Distinguished Professors, reviews nominations and develops a short list of candidates. The screening committee for the 2014 cycle includes Peter Jung (Physics and Astronomy, 2009), Charles Smith (Playwriting, 2010), Mark Halliday (English, 2011), John Kopchick (Biomedical Sciences, 2012), and Tom Carpenter (Classics and World Religions, 2013).
According to the terms of the endowment, those elected to membership in the company of Distinguished Professors "will be chosen on the basis of outstanding artistic, literary, historical, or scientific achievements, or other worthy accomplishments attaining wide recognition." To be considered for election, a faculty member must have tenure and a minimum of five years of service at Ohio University. The prime consideration is scholarly or creative contributions that have received substantial recognition beyond the Ohio University community.
Nominations for Distinguished Professor are encouraged and welcomed from all departments, schools, and academic disciplines at Ohio University. Nominations may come from chairs, directors, or any faculty member and should be submitted directly to Distinguished Professor Mark Halliday, Ellis Hall 357. The nominating letter should include a summary of the nominee's career and qualifications and should be accompanied by supporting information, including a bibliography, no more than 10 letters of support, representative publications, and other pertinent materials. The deadline for 2014 nominations is February 14, 2014. Inquiries about the content of nomination dossiers should be directed to Professor Halliday.

The announcement of the 2014 Distinguished Professor will be made at the May 2, 2014 Graduate Commencement Ceremony. I hope you will consider contributing to this important Ohio University tradition through the nomination of our well-deserving colleagues.

Roderick J. McDavis