Thursday, May 24, 2018

Fog/Mist, 59 °F


Suzi Wycoff (center) accepted the Alumnus of the Year Award on behalf of her late husband, James Wycoff at the 2013 Alumni Awards Gala. She is joined by President Roderick J. McDavis (left) and Asst. V.P. of Alumni Relations Jennifer Neubauer (right)

Photographer: Stephen Reiss

Featured Stories

Outstanding alumni honored at annual Homecoming Awards Gala

The late James Wycoff wins Alumnus of the Year

Each year, Ohio University bestows its highest honors on alumni and friends whose professional accomplishments or service to the university are particularly distinguished. This year’s awardees were recognized at the black-tie Alumni Awards Gala on Friday, Oct. 11, during Homecoming.

The Alumna/Alumnus of the Year Award is presented to a graduate who has distinguished himself or herself both professionally and in service to and support of Ohio University. This year’s awardee was James A. Wycoff, AB ’71, who died suddenly in August. Wycoff was owner and principal of Cincinnati’s first Raymond James Financial Services office, host of the long-running Jim Wycoff Money Hour Cincinnati’s 550-AM Radio, and co-inventor of a leading software system for the mutual fund industry. His service to OHIO included significant support for Intercollegiate Athletics and the College of Business.

Recipients of the Medal of Merit for outstanding professional accomplishments were Dolores K. Hanna, AB ’49, an internationally known trademark attorney who was the first female president of the United States Trademark Association; CNN correspondent Martin J. Savidge, BSJ ’81, who also has reported for public television and NBC News; and Amy Sage Webb, BSJ ’90, professor of English, director of the Creative Writing Program and director of the University Honors Program at Emporia State University in Kansas.

The Distinguished Service Award -- which recognizes support of Ohio University and the Alumni Association through work with alumni chapters, clubs, societies or other organizations -- went to longtime Cleveland educator LaWanna S. White, BSEd ’65. Her service to OHIO includes work with the Epsilon Iota Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta and creation of the Ebony Bobcat Network, an alumni affinity group focused on black and multicultural students.

The Charles J. and Claire O. Ping Recent Graduate Award is given to alumni whose Ohio University education has been a factor in their outstanding accomplishments in the 15 years following their graduation. Michael T. Cady, BSC ’01, CERT ’01, was this year’s recipient for his accomplishments in sales with Cisco Systems, Inc., Xerox Corp., and Oracle.

Charles R. “Skip” Vosler -- longtime Bobcats head athletic trainer who pioneered the state’s curricula in undergraduate and master’s-level athletic training education -- was named Honorary Alumnus. This award is presented to an individual who did not graduate from Ohio University but has demonstrated exemplary loyalty to it.

Inductees into the Kermit Blosser OHIO Athletics Hall of Fame were volleyball standout Laura K. Cobb, BSH 2004, who holds multiple records; Joseph (Joe) R. Nossek, who launched a 43-year career as a player, coach, manager and scout in Major League Baseball after playing for OHIO; and Bryan Oswald, BSC ’98, who placed fourth in the 1973 collegiate wrestling championships and served as assistant wrestling coach in 1974–75.

For more information about 2013 Homecoming, visit ohio.edu/homecoming.