Dennis Irwin

Dennis Irwin

Photo courtesy of: University Communications and Marketing

Featured Stories

Engineering dean named 'Uncommon Engineer' by Ohio Society of Professional Engineers

Dennis Irwin, dean of the Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ College of Engineering and Technology at Ohio University, received the Uncommon Engineer Award from the Ohio Society of Professional Engineers (OSPE).

"This award was a huge surprise for me," said Irwin, who is also Moss Professor of Engineering Education and Thomas Professor of Engineering. "I value it very highly coming from professional colleagues outside the university environment. These are the people practicing what we are preaching."

According to OSPE president Bruce Larcomb, the Uncommon Engineer recipient is only presented when an individual stands out among his or her peers.

"Dean Irwin was recognized for his distinguished service to the engineering profession and commitment to the OSPE, for championing membership rights, and for effective guidance to the society, its members and its officers," Larcomb said. "The award also honors his team play and his burning desire and love for his profession."

Irwin has been the liaison between OSPE and the Ohio Engineering Deans Council since 2006. For the past year, he has been a member of the board of directors of OSPE in his capacity as chair of the Professional Engineers in Higher Education practice division.

"His appreciation for the need for advanced engineering courses being taught by professional engineers influenced my choice," Larcomb added. "He has led by example. He is quite deserving – and it was a personal pleasure to give the award."

A registered professional engineer in the state of Ohio, Irwin is an associate fellow of AIAA and senior member of IEEE and currently serves on the nomination committee for the National Academy of Engineering's Russ Prize, the world's highest honor in bioengineering.

He is also a faculty member of the International Space University, having twice chaired the space systems engineering department, and having served as a lecturer or workshop leader repeatedly since 1998.