Sunday, Jul 21, 2019

Thunderstorm in Vicinity, 89 °F


Director Dan Wainio, left, talks to his Sway the Crowd Production team before filming at GG's Bubble Tea

Photographer: Sonya Paclob


Producers of each team wait outside of 1804 Lounge in Baker University Center for their assignment

Photographer: Sonya Paclob


Second Class Studio, Mike Mytnick, right, hold camera for a lighting test on Meg Nicol, left, as glitter is blown in the air

Photographer: Sonya Paclob

Featured Stories

Winners chosen in annual 48-Hour Shootout

Audience Choice Award given for first time

More than 500 students made up 25 teams that scrambled to finish scripting, shooting and editing a short film during the 10th annual 48-Hour Shootout Film Project, Feb. 10-12, on the Ohio University Athens Campus.

On Friday, producers from each team received their genre, prop and line of dialogue for their film. Each student team was faced with the task of creating a three- to five-minute film within 48 hours from scratch.

Presidential Teacher Award winner Frederick Lewis, who advises the event, said "It is an opportunity for students to collaborate and learn how to work under pressure."

The two first-place winners were Take-It-Easy Production's "Dust Jacket" and Illegal Entertainment's "Home." Chridos Pa Nivika Productions won third place for "Infinity." The judges didn't reward a second place finisher because of the tie for first place.

Magnum Opus Production received the first standing ovation in competition history and won the newly created Audience Choice Award with the film, "We NEED A Hero."

The winner of the Freshmen/Sophomore Team competition was Abstrakt's film "Dreamcatcher." Second Class Studio received honorable mention for "Stone Cold."

Judges for the competition included: David Urano, Ohio University director of video and photography services in University Communications and Marketing; Keith Newman, faculty/administrator at the Ohio University Lancaster Campus; and Tennessee State University professors Joe and Melissa Richie.

The competition is hosted by Ohio University School of Media Arts and Studies.