Libby Dudding at work in Haning Hall

Photographer: George Mauzy

Featured Stories

Great job!

Libby Dudding is the June Classified Employee of the Month

Compass features a Q&A with the non-bargaining Classified Employee of the Month. Each month, Classified Senate selects an employee to acknowledge and recognize as someone who is setting high standards for excellence and innovation. The monthly feature, titled "Great Job," will provide a glimpse into the honoree's life on and off campus.

How surprised were you to win the Employee of the Month award?

I was very surprised because the recognition was from a position that I held 2 ½ years ago while working in the Residential Housing Office. I was humbled by the many wonderful things that had been written about me by my former supervisor Louise Bell and it was equally special to have those things mentioned during a staff meeting at my current department.

What is your job title and how long have you worked at University?

I am an administrative associate and I have worked at Ohio University for 27 years.

What are the most enjoyable things about your job? 

In my position with eLearning OHIO, I utilize my BSS degree and my design experience.

What is your hometown and where do you live now?  

Well, I grew up in New Haven, W.Va., but have made Athens and Nelsonville my home since 1976 when my husband and I returned from Stuttgart, Germany, while he was stationed in the U.S. Army.

What are your long-term goals in life? 

Luckily, I have reached most of the obvious ones, good job, finished my undergraduate degree while working full time, married to my husband Dennis Dudding for 40 years, raised three children (Jennifer Dodson, David Dudding, Teresa Byrd) to adulthood, and developed many long and lasting friendships. With retirement right around the corner, my goals are so much smaller now. I want to experience a couple of winters in a little warmer climate.

What was the last good book you read?  

Besides the obvious Good Book, "The Shack."

If you weren't in your present job, you would be working as a ______? 

I would be working as a graphic designer anywhere. I can get so lost in design that I can sit for long periods of time, with no regard for time and love every minute of it.

What things in life are the most important to you? 

My faith in and continued walk with Jesus.

Where is your favorite vacation destination? 

Myrtle Beach.  Cherry Grove, S.C. to be exact.  I have lived in Europe, visited Italy, Maui and Oahu, but I love Myrtle Beach.  Don't know why, just my kind of perfect.

What are your hobbies? 

Quilting, creating greeting cards, and gardening are my hobbies.

What is something that most people don't know about you? 

I dislike doctor visits. All types of visits from eye exams to flu shots. I dislike everything from the repetitive questions that you answered last year, but they must ask again, to the not-so-gentle technician attempting to put drops in my eyes and expecting that I won't blink. I am not a good patient. I try, but so far, I am failing at this.

What are your favorite TV shows? 

The BIG Bang Theory

What is your favorite type of music? 

Inspirational and contemporary Christian

What is the next big event you can't wait for?

I can't wait for Dec. 31, 2014. That is my expected retirement date.
What is your dream car/truck/SUV? 

I drive a Chevy Cobalt with manual windows and doors. I already found my dream car.
What is your favorite saying or quote?

"God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks to us in our conscience, but shouts in our pains: It is His megaphone to rouse a deaf world," by C.S. Lewis