Featured Stories

Presidential Teacher Award nominations close Oct. 17

Nominations for the 2012 Presidential Teacher Award close Monday, Oct. 17 at 5 p.m.

Students, faculty and alumni from all Ohio University campuses are welcome to nominate a full-time, tenured faculty member from any campus for the prestigious award.  Nominees will then be invited to submit an application for consideration by the Presidential Teacher Award Selection Committee.

Established in 2001 by a $250,000 endowment from alumna Beth Stocker, the award recognizes faculty who demonstrate excellence in instructional efforts, provide outstanding mentoring, and bring effective innovative approaches to their teaching.

“At the center of what we do and do best is prepare the next generation of leaders, teachers and entrepreneurs. Our ability to achieve our mission is due to the teaching excellence that takes place at Ohio University,” explained Ohio University President Roderick J. McDavis. “Our professors provide the best transformational learning experience for our students by challenging, supporting, and mentoring them. The Presidential Teacher Award is one way we recognize those professors who are helping our students achieve their promise.”

Martin Tuck, interim dean of the Chillicothe campus, helped to administer the award during his time as associate provost for academic affairs.

“I consider it the top teaching award the University has to offer,” he said. “In your application you must clearly demonstrate that you have consistently been an outstanding mentor and role model not only for students but for other faculty.”

The award reflects positively, not only on the recipients, but on OHIO overall.

“The award illustrates that the University values excellent teaching and the difference that outstanding faculty make,” Tuck said.

Awardees hold the title for three years and receive a $1,000 stipend each year, a total of $3,000.

The nomination form is available at www.ohio.edu/apaa/ptaindexpage.cfm.