Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Light Rain Fog/Mist, 66 °F


Featured Stories

RSVP wins big in Student Senate elections

RSVP swept the ballot for the Student Senate positions for the 2011-2012 academic school year.

Every RSVP candidate on the ballot won Student Senate positions over the opposing party, FACE. Student Senate candidates campaigned for a month and participated in various debates.

The Student Senate president will be Student Trustee Kyle Triplett with 1,961 votes over FACE presidential candidate Matthew Wallace, who secured 991 votes, and write-in candidate Chris Wagner, who secured 978 votes.

"I am very excited and fortunate to have been elected Student Senate president by my peers," said Triplett. "I felt that voter turnout was great especially the first day. It is comforting to see students take the initiative and vote, the voter turnout shows OU students’ commitment to this university."

Vice president-elect will be Roger Jones of RSVP.

FACE candidates won two seats including University College Senator, to be filled by Michael Stover, and one of the five at large senators positions, to be filled by Rachel Ackerman.

Voting from students was the highest it has been since 2007. More than 4,050 students voted in this year’s election. Students could vote online, the polls opened at 8 a.m. Wednesday, May 18 and closed at 7 p.m. Thursday, May 19.

"I was pleased with voter turnout this year. With 4,057 votes cast, this represents roughly 20 percent of the student body," said Ryan Lombardi, associate vice president and dean of students. "It is great to see students so invested in the Student Senate elections. It was great to see so much passion for the student experience at Ohio University."

Board of Elections Chairman Chauncey Jackson announced the results Thursday night on the first floor of Baker University Center.