Student trustee finalists pose together at gala. (L-R): Allie Dyer, Victoria Calderon, Zach George, Allison Arnold, and Tiffany Schlein

Photo courtesy of: Allison Arnold

Featured Stories

Student leaders honored at annual awards gala

Allison Arnold announced as student trustee

The Ohio University Division of Student Affairs hosted the 28th Annual Leadership Awards Gala on Wednesday, honoring the outstanding work and service of more than 50 individuals and student organizations.

Established in 1983, the event recognizes the most dedicated and hard working student leaders through a variety of prestigious awards and scholarships.

President Roderick J. McDavis, Vice President for Student Affairs Kent Smith and Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students Ryan Lombardi praised the award nominees and recipients for their commitment to excellence.

"[The student nominees] are leaders because [they] have a vision and an aspiration to be an agent of change," McDavis said. "Through [their] curiosity, energy and commitment to making a difference, [they] have inspired excellence in other members of our community."

The event was sponsored by: Amstar Energy Group, Beta Theta Pi, Brailsford & Dunlavey, Broney's Alumni Grill, Cisco, Highland Campus Health Group, Krile Communications, Ohio Realty, Ohio University Credit Union and University Medical Associates.

Keynote speaker Paul Brailsford, founder and CEO of Brailsford & Dunlavey, spoke about the traits and attributes of a true leader, as well as the importance of leadership in today's society.

"Leaders are the most important part of our societal infrastructure," said Brailsford.

He urged the award nominees to accept the challenge of being a leader and to embody what Brailsford believes are the traits that make up a leader.

"Leadership is not so much a skill as much as it is an attitude or a state of mind ... [it is] responsibility coupled with ambition coupled with humility coupled with a sense of integrity."

Allison Arnold, a sophomore public relations major in the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism was announced as the newest student trustee. She was selected from a group of five finalists by Ohio Gov. John Kasich to serve a two-year term on the Ohio University Board of Trustees.

"It was very exciting and shocking, but I was also very humbled and honored," Arnold said. "The other finalists were four outstanding people and we all knew that whoever was chosen, the University was going to be in really good hands. I look forward to working with all of them in the future because they are all really prominent leaders on campus."

Other notable honorees are Crystalyn Thomas-Davis, who received the Francine Childs Diversity Leadership Award; Brittany Wolverton, who received the Rudy Leadership Award for Outstanding Student Leadership and the Edwin L. Kennedy Leadership Award for Outstanding Community Service; and Lacey Rogers who received an Outstanding Senior Leader Award, the Women's Issues Leadership Award and the Stonewall Leadership Award.

According to McDavis, the leadership shown by the student nominees and recipients is what makes Ohio University a better place.

"We are a better university today because we have students who dare to make a difference, who dare to be great," McDavis said. "Our nation today needs [student leaders] to make a difference ... We challenge [them] to continue giving back to this nation and indeed this world."