Sunday, Oct 22, 2017

A Few Clouds, 73 °F

Shad Sargand

Shad Sargand

Featured Stories

Civil engineering professor receives industry honor

Four students awarded scholarships from same organization

A professor of civil engineering at Ohio University's Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ College of Engineering and Technology has received a leading honor in the pavement industry.

Russ Professor Shad Sargand was awarded the William W. "Bill" Baker Award by Flexible Pavements of Ohio (FPO) at the organization's annual meeting in March.

The FPO encourages the development, improvement and advancement of quality asphalt pavement construction and said it recognized Sargand for his "commitment to quality and overall impact on the Ohio asphalt paving industry."

"This award is a great honor," Sargand said. "It's also a credit to all the students and staff who have worked so hard with me on these projects over the years." 

A leading scholar on roadway systems and development, Sargand is also the associate director of the Ohio Research Institute for Transportation and the Environment, which conducts research for Ohio's Department of Transportation and other organizations.

Since he joined Ohio University 30 years ago as an assistant professor, Sargand has led almost 90 research projects, including the Strategic Highway Research Program (SHRP) Test Road on US Route 23 in Delaware County, and an instrumented perpetual pavement on US Route 30 in Wayne County. 

Sargand also received special certificates in 1995 from former Ohio Governor George Voinovich and in 1998 from the Federal Highway Administration recognizing his leadership of the SHRP test road project. More recently, he established the National Asphalt Laboratory on Ohio University's Lancaster campus to complement the existing Accelerated Pavement Load Facility.

Previous award recipients include Jerry Wray, the current director of the Ohio Department of Transportation.

Four students awarded FPO scholarships

The FPO awarded four civil engineering students $1,200 scholarships at the meeting. The competitive scholarships were awarded based on the students' academic performance, leadership, extracurricular activities and aspirations in the transportation industry.

Juniors Thaddeus Buffenbarger and Nicholas Brady, and seniors Benjamin Jordan and Corey Francis, were among 25 students statewide to receive the scholarships.

The FPO's Hot Mix Asphalt Scholarship Program was created to encourage the study of hot mix asphalt and continued, improved quality in the asphalt pavement industry.

Each scholarship was sponsored by a corporate member of FPO, including Erie Blacktop, Barret Paving Materials, John R. Jurgensen & Valley Asphalt and Flexible Pavements of Ohio.