President Roderick J. McDavis

Featured Stories

Search committee appointed to select Vice President of Advancement

New committee to be chaired by Vice President for Student Affairs Kent Smith

On Monday Ohio University President Roderick J. McDavis sent an e-mail to the entire Ohio University community announcing the members of the search committee to select a new Vice President for Advancement/CEO of the Ohio University Foundation.

Dear Faculty, Students and Staff,

The purpose of my message is to share with you the names of the individuals who have agreed to serve on the search committee for Ohio University’s next Vice President for University Advancement and President/CEO of the Ohio University Foundation.

Kent Smith, vice president for student affairs, has agreed to chair the committee, which includes representatives from faculty, students, staff, the Ohio University Foundation Board and the Ohio University Board of Trustees. The committee’s charge is to complete a national search to identify top candidates for this position, which is responsible for leading the University’s $450 million the Promise Lives capital campaign and all aspects of University Advancement, which includes The Ohio University Foundation, Alumni Affairs and Development.

Beginning Nov. 27, I will act as Interim Vice President for University Advancement and President/CEO of the Ohio University Foundation following the departure of Vice President for University Advancement Howard Lipman, and I will continue in that role until the search is complete.

As the search progresses over the next several months, there will be opportunities for the University community to interact with finalists whom the committee invites to Athens for campus visits. I hope you will be an active participant in that process. In the meantime, please join me in thanking the search committee members and in lending them your support.

Roderick J. McDavis

Search Committee Members:

  • Kent Smith, Student Affairs, Chairperson
  • Elizabeth Sayrs, School of Music
  • Joseph Shields, Physics and Astronomy Department
  • Greg Shepherd, Scripps College of Communication
  • Daniel Weiner, Center for International Studies
  • Danielle Parker, Board of Trustees, Student Trustee
  • Henry Woods, Campus Recycling Program
  • Margaret Sheskey, University Advancement
  • Pam Benoit, Executive Vice President and Provost
  • Connie Romine, Alumni Affairs
  • Arlene Greenfield, Ohio University Alumni Board
  • Bill Hilyard, Ohio University Alumni Board
  • Larry McHale, Ohio University Foundation Trustee
  • Ray Schilderink, Ohio University Foundation Trustee
  • Jeff Stanley, Ohio University Foundation Trustee
  • Sandra Anderson, Board of Trustees
  • Ned Dewire, Board of Trustees