Featured Stories

Scripps PRSSA gains national recognition for outstanding newsletter

Each year, the national Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) recognizes chapters across the nation through the Dr. F.H Teahan National Chapter awards, the organization’s most prestigious annual program. At the recent PRSSA National Conference in Orlando, Ohio University’s Hugh M. Culbertson PRSSA chapter was awarded the Teahan for "Outstanding Chapter Newsletter."

"This is huge for our university because chapters across the nation compete for these awards," Chapter Advisor Dan Farkas said. "You can learn something in a classroom, but to take it, apply it and win on a national level – that really says something about the work being done here at the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism."

Each quarter, OHIO’s PRSSA chapter produces a newsletter distributed digitally to students, faculty, alumni and professionals. Content ranges from chapter news and events to professional development tips.

The "Outstanding Chapter Newsletter" Teahan Award recognizes quality of writing, creativity, design and content, as well as newsworthiness, frequency of publication and scope of distribution.  

To be eligible for a Teahan Award, chapters must follow precise guidelines and be in good standing with national PRSSA. The chapter received $200 along with a plaque.