Featured Stories

Colleges to adopt new names and structures July 1

College of Education and College of Health and Human Services will be renamed

Ohio University's College of Health and Human Services (CHHS) and College of Education (COE) will take on new names and new academic structures on July 1.

The COE will be renamed The Gladys W. and David H. Patton College of Education and Human Services, in recognition of a transformational gift made by OHIO alumna Violet Patton.

The new name for the CHHS will be the College of Health Sciences and Professions. The name reflects the restructured college's focus on health-centered disciplines.

The name changes were approved April 16 by the university's board of trustees.

The College of Health Sciences and Professions' new academic structure consists of four units rather than the previous six. The plan is based on recommendations submitted by a committee of faculty, staff and students in the college to Executive Vice President and Provost Pam Benoit, who announced the changes April 12. Two schools in the former CHHS – Recreation and Sport Sciences and Human and Consumer Sciences – were disbanded and several of their programs were realigned to other colleges.

Many of these programs will be incorporated into the new Patton College.

"We are thrilled to welcome new faculty, staff, students and alumni to our college," said College of Education Dean Renée Middleton. "The new programs will help to strengthen and grow the outstanding programs already in place, and we are excited about the synergy these changes promise to bring. When multiples disciplines combine, the opportunities for research and collaboration are endless."

For those students whose programs are moving to the Patton College, Middleton assured them that nothing – not the instructors, buildings or classes – would change as a result of the incorporation.
The CHHS name and organizational changes were the final steps in a realignment process that was announced early last year. The realignment shifted more than a dozen of the college's academic programs elsewhere on campus and will ultimately ally the new College of Health Sciences and Professions with the College of Osteopathic Medicine and other health-related programs across campus in an entity known as the Health Sciences Center.

"After more than a year of planning, I am excited that we are moving forward as the College of Health Sciences and Professions," said Randy Leite, interim dean of the College of Health and Human Services. “Our new, more explicit focus on health should help to enhance professional opportunities for our students and will allow us to also develop a wide array of services for the community and the state.  We are already developing a number of opportunities that will enhance the preparation of health professionals across various fields."

The Health Sciences Center is an organizational framework being developed to implement the activities of Ohio University's new Center of Excellence in Biomedicine and Health Care, which was announced by the University System of Ohio earlier this year.
Following are details about the makeup of the new College of Health Sciences and Professions' four units:

•    School of Nursing – This unit includes nursing programs on the regional campuses in Chillicothe, Lancaster and Ironton. It underwent no structural changes and retained its name.

•    Department of Social and Public Health – This unit reflects a combination of programs within the former School of Public Health Sciences and Professions and the Child and Family Studies program, formerly in the current School of Human and Consumer Sciences. Along with Child and Family Studies, programs in this unit include Health Administration, Long-Term Care Administration, Environmental Health, Industrial Hygiene, and Community Health/Public Health.
•    School of Applied Health Sciences and Wellness – This group includes two programs formerly housed in the School of Recreation and Sport Sciences: Athletic Training and Exercise Physiology. Joining these two is Nutrition, a program formerly housed in the School of Human and Consumer Sciences.

•    Unit 4 – This unit, whose name is expected to be determined during the summer, includes programs in the former Schools of Physical Therapy and Hearing, Speech and Language Sciences. The Ohio University Therapy Associates clinic operations will also be administered through this unit.

The blueprint for the Health Sciences Center is expected to be developed by the end of the year.