The event was emceed by Emily Dale and Errik Ejike.


Keynote speaker Melanie Sabelhaus, Ohio alumna and partner with Superior Financial Group, LLC, will also be delivering the commencement address at graduation.

Featured Stories

27th Annual Leadership Awards Gala winners

On Wednesday, May 19, Ohio University honored its student leaders and the role that they play on campus. The gala was organized by the Campus Involvement Center and the Division of Student Affairs.

The full list of winners follows:

Stonewall Leadership Award:
Michael Korte
Kate Steven

King/Chavez/Parks Award:
Don P. Jason III
India Pierce

Blackburn/Spencer Scholarship Award:

Bryttanil Barker
Carlton Daniel
Donald Huston
Amaris Ifedi
Eden Lee
Ashanti Murdock
Briana Pickett
Jareed Robinson
Lauren Somerville
Trevor Tomlinson

Latino Heritage Award:

Camila B. LeMaster
Catherine L. Meyer
Scott Singer

Charles J. Ping International Student Leadership Award:
Arushi Sharma

Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Award:
Alisha Boards

Outstanding Student Organization Programming Awards:
Spring 2009:

“2nd Annual Dove Ball” Sigma Lambda Gamma National Sorority, Inc.

Fall 2009:
“Slice of Athens” Black Student Cultural Programming Board & University Program Council

Winter 2010:
“It Takes a Village” Students Teaching About Racism in Society (STARS)

Edwin L. Kennedy Award Leadership Award for Outstanding Community Service:

Sarah Kelly

Organization Award:
Human Services Organization (HSO)

Womens Issues Leadership Award:
Emily Dunlap

Outstanding Graduate Student Leadership Award:
Masters Program:

Titus Gwemende

Doctoral Program:
William A. Young II

The Rudy Leadership Award for Outstanding Student Leadership:
Andrea M. Blamble

Division of Student Affairs Faculty Contribution Award Recipients:
Linn Forhan
Christine Gidycz, Ph.D.

Pepsi Ohio University Campus Leadership Scholarships:

Nora Bass
Andrea M. Blamble
Sarah Eksi
Jessica Huizenga
Sarah Kelly
Mary Brett Koplen
Alexandr Maza
Patricia Roberts
Eric Schafer
Joseph Stitt
Kyle William Triplett
Sariya Winters

Outstanding Senior Leader Awards:
Emily Bacha
Dominic P. Basilio
Matthew Denhart
Ellen Herman
Gwen Hubach
Chauncey Jackson
Robert Leary
Mark Wright*

*signifies student received John Newton Templeton Designation