Featured Stories

Nine named to University Environmental Scan Team

Group to make recommendations to university by Oct. 1

Ohio University President Roderick J. McDavis has appointed nine individuals to the serve on the University Environmental Scan Team.

The team will serve a vital role in the university's Multi-Year Planning approach that will lead to expenditure and revenue assumptions for the next three to five years.

An environmental scan is a way of systematically analyzing significant internal and external trends to shape plans for the future.

The environmental scans will identify issues of concern and provide a head start in meeting the challenges of the future. The Scan Team's process will be to conduct a series of interviews with constituent groups over the next six months and seek out advice and analysis from internal and external experts. The team will share its scan and initial recommendations with the university community by Oct. 1 in order to solicit feedback.

Every university planning unit also will form an environmental scan team that will determine how changes in population, higher education, social, technological, economic, environmental, and political factors will impact the unit. Planning unit environmental
scans and recommendations also are due by Oct. 1.

As the Multi-Year Planning process progresses, the university will determine how often environmental scans will be performed.

University Environmental Scan Team members are:

  • Pam Benoit (chair), executive vice president and provost

  • Terry Conry, associate vice president, finance and administration

  • Ralph DiCaprio, professor and chair, Biological Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences

  • Rich Greenlee, dean, Eastern Campus

  • Christine Knisley, executive director, research and grants, Osteopathic Medicine

  • Randy Leite, interim dean, College of Health and Human Services

  • Joe McLaughlin, chair, Faculty Senate; and chair and associate professor, English, College of Arts and Sciences

  • Kent Smith, vice president, Student Affairs

  • Scott Titsworth, associate professor, Communication Studies, Scripps College of Communication

  • David Descutner, ex officio, interim executive vice provost, and dean, University College

The Multi-Year Planning document can be viewed at