Ohio University


The Ohio University Clarinet Studio regularly welcomes an impressive number of outstanding visiting artists. Students have the privilege of working with these clarinetists in master classes and/or private lessons, as well as hearing them perform live in the School of Music Recital Hall.

Following are some of our talented visiting clarinetists from previous years:

Orchestral Players
Kimberly Boardman, South Bend Symphony (IN)
Franklin Cohen, Cleveland Orchestra
Anthony Costa, Dayton Philharmonic
Daniel Gilbert, Cleveland Orchestra
Robert Jones, Columbus Symphony
John Kurokawa, Dayton Philharmonic
Eugene Marquis, Cincinnati Ballet Orchestra
Daniel Paprocki, Evansville Philharmonic (IN)
John Bruce Yeh, Chicago Symphony

Soloists/Recording Artists
Jonathan Cohler, faculty, Longy School of Music
Ivano Rondoni, renowned Italian clarinetist
David Shifrin, former Artistic Director, Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center
Robert Spring, faculty, Arizona State University

College/Conservatory Professors
Diane Barger, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Kristina Belisle, University of Akron, OH
Ann-Marie Bingham, Marshall University, Huntington, WV
Deborah Bish, Florida State University, Tallahassee
Kelly Burke, University of North Carolina-Greensboro
Jane Carl, University of Missouri Kansas City Conservatory of Music
Kimberly Cole-Luevano, University of North Texas, Denton
Elizabeth Crawford, Ball State University, Muncie, IN
Anthony Costa, Penn State University, University Park, PA
Elizabeth Crawford, Ball State University, Muncie, IN
William Bruce Curlette, Cedarville College, OH
Karen Dannessa, Westchester University, Westchester, PA
Eli Eban, Indiana University, Bloomington
Jane Ellsworth, Kenyon College, OH
Oskar Espina-Ruiz, University of North Carolina School of the Arts, Winston-Salem
Ronald de Kant, University of Cincinnati-College Conservatory of Music, OH
Michele Gingras, Miami University, Oxford, OH
Caroline Hartig, Michigan State University, East Lansing
Richard Hawkins, Oberlin College Conservatory of Music, OH
Frank Kowalsky, Florida State University, Tallahassee
Gail Lehto Zugger, Capital University, Columbus, OH
Jacqueline McIlwain, University of Southern Mississippi, Hattiesburg, MS
Janice Minor, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA
Kelley Rogers Niiyama, Indiana State University, Terra Haute, IN
Randall Paul, Wright State University, Dayton, OH
Maxine Ramey, University of Montana, Missoula
Barbara Specht, Heidelberg College, OH
Michael Sullivan, Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff
Anthony Taylor, University of North Carolina-Greensboro
Scott Wright, University of Kentucky-Lexington

Chamber Ensembles
Columbus Camerata (Leslie Maaser, flute; Susan Dayton, oboe; Melanie Richards, clarinet; Jethro Woodson, bassoon
Eastwind Trio d'Anches from University of North Carolina Greensboro (Mary Ashley Barret, oboe; Kelly Burke, clarinet; Michael Burns, bassoon)
Ocatillo Trio from Arizona State University (Robert Spring, clarinet; Jeffrey Lyman, bassoon; Martin Schuring, oboe)
Prestige Quartet (Anthony Costa, John Kurokawa, Janice Minor, and Sarah Nowlin, clarinets)
Quorum Contemporary Ensemble (Kimberly Cole, clarinet, Winston Collier, bassoon; Midori Koga, piano; Alison Shaw, percussion; Timothy McAllister, saxophone; Carolyn Stuart, violin)
Trio con brio from Florida State University (Frank Kowalsky, clarinet, Lubomir Georgiev, cello; Carolyn Bridger, piano)

Military Band Clarinetists
Lacey Stokes, United Air Force Band of the West, San Antonio, TX

Karen Benda, private teacher, Ohio
Melinda Murphy, Alexander Technique specialist, Columbus, OH
Melanie Richards, private teacher, Columbus, OH
Elizabeth Stimpert, Alarm Will Sound

Home: Ohio University Clarinet Studio 2007-2008

Last updated on March 3, 2018.
Designed by Elizabeth Aleksander.
Maintained by Rebecca Rischin.