Ohio University

2020 CIS Awards Ceremony

While we were not able to execute the 2020 CIS Awards as initially planned, on April 30, 2020 we hosted our first ever virtual awards. Hosted on Zoom and livestreamed on Facebook, the award ceremony was a small way to recognize the amazing work our CIS students are doing in and out of the classroom. A recording of the livestream is available here.

The following awards were given:

Outstanding Student Awards
This award recognizes a student in each program who has contributed holistically to not just their academic program, but to also the CIS and the university community. These students maintain a high GPA, participate in various on-campus activities, and serve as role models for their fellow students. This year’s awards went to: 

  • Global Studies — Caitlyn Gampp 
  • Global Leadership Center — Danielle Klein 
  • African Studies — Margaret Gatonye 
  • Asian Studies —  Namrata Jain 
  • Latin American Studies — Lloyda Alicia Garrett 
  • Communication and Development Studies — Paige Jennan Andrew 
  • International Development Studies — Ashley Kafton 

Academic Achievement Awards 
This award is for students who maintain high academic standards and have a cumulative GPA of 3.8 and above.

Africa Studies

  • Ama Boatemaa Appiah Kubi  
  • Kofi Baah Gyimah  
  • Jeremiah Commey  
  • Fatou Drammeh  
  • Prince Osei Asibia Duodu
  • Margaret Wanjiru Gatonye 
  • Ishmael Laryea Konney 
  • Ewurabena Edufua Krampah 
  • Prince Kwarteng Crooklynn 
  • Angela Naa Odoffey Manko 
  • George Ofori Atta
  • Doreen Tutera 
  • Purity Namisoho Wawire  

Asian Studies  

  • Kevin Balk 
  • Craig Eyman 
  • Ihsan Faris 
  • Namrata Jain
  • Previn Pandey 
  • Aaron Reinhard 
  • Agam Syahrial  

Latin American Studies

  • Daniela Avila
  • Veronica Valeria Garrido
  • Anne Kawabe
  • Kossi Missedja
  • Andrea Padilla

Communication and Development Studies

  • Jaqueline Atieno Abok 
  • Delight Jessica Agboada 
  • Mohamed Elmugtaba Ahmed 
  • Jennan Andrew 
  • Carina Capitine 
  • Delphine Marie De Gryse 
  • Benafsha Faizy 
  • Daniel Galek 
  • Kathryn Gardner 
  • Senya Afi Ghamli 
  • Nelli Gurbanova 
  • Mohamed Haroon Hilal 
  • Harry Morgan Insaidoo 
  • Uladzislau Kavaleuski 
  • Fnu Lutviah 
  • Faith Otchere 
  • Susan Sengmanithong 
  • Nala Edwin Widjaja 
  • Hannah Wintucky 


International Development Studies 

  • Eddy Emilia Boue 
  • Nicole Germano 
  • Mohammed Sakhi 
  • Ashley Kafton 
  • Eriko Mukaibo 
  • Uchenna Hillprieston Okwara 
  • Dina Rishmawi 
  • Peggy Sayo 
  • Amal Shimir 


Global Studies 

  • Emma Prochaska – Africa 
  • Jahmir King – Asia and War and Peace 
  • Holly Thompson - Asia 
  • Lydia Gehr - Europe 
  • Joey Phipps - Europe 
  • Daniela Grijalva – Latin America 
  • Amy Baciak – War and Peace 
  • Abby Hutzel – War and Peace 
  • Evan Schalon – War and Peace 
  • John Wehrkamp – War and Peace 
  • Grace Weisel – War and Peace 


Global Leadership Center

  • Daniela Grijalva 


Special recognition certificates were given for the following: