Skip to: Main Content Search Main Navigation Audience Navigation


Alcoa Scholarship
Alcoa is the world leader in the production and management of primary and fabricated aluminum and alumina, through its active and growing participation in all major aspects of the industry. The company serves the aerospace, automotive, packaging, building and construction, commercial transportation and industrial markets. This scholarship is presented to students majoring in industrial hygiene.

Dr. Franklin B. Carver Environmental Health Sciences Scholarship
This scholarship was established by Dr. Franklin B. Carver, the first coordinator of the Environmental Health Sciences program. He was responsible for the program’s development of one of the few nationally accredited environmental health curriculums in the nation. The recipient must be a sophomore, and first preference should be given to a minority student.

Clifford Houk Industrial Hygiene Scholarship
This scholarship is provided to an industrial hygiene major through the
generosity of retired professor Clifford Houk, who founded the Industrial Hygiene program at Ohio University. The recipient is selected on the basis of academic merit, financial need and demonstrated involvement in extracur-ricular activities, including the Ohio University Industrial Hygiene Student Association and volunteer service organizations.

Charlotte LaTourrette Health Education Scholarship
Established through the estate of Charlotte LaTourrette, professor emerita of the School of Health, Physical Education and Recreation, who retired in 1971 after 41 years of service to Ohio University. The recipient of this scholarship must be an upperclass student majoring in community health services. Selection based on financial need, academic ability, character, citizenship, and leadership qualities.

For a list of all scholarships and awards in the College of Health Sciences and Professions, click here.