Skip to: Main Content Search Main Navigation Audience Navigation



Cynthia C. Norkin Scholarship
Dr. Cynthia C. Norkin, founding director of the former School of Physical Therapy at Ohio University, served as director from 1984-1995. Established in honor of her retirement and presented to a student who has shown evidence of his or her dedication to the physical therapy program. Selection is based upon service, leadership and involvement in the community and in professional organizations.

Joy Boyd Memorial Scholarship
In memory of Joy Boyd, a 1988 alumna of the Physical Therapy program; presented to a student who demonstrates academic merit, a sense of pro-fessionalism, and a dedication to the field of physical therapy, in addition to the strength of character, high idealism, compassion for others, and desire to do one’s best that characterized Joy’s life.

Athens County Education Award
Presented to a graduate student enrolled in the Physical Therapy program. Priority is given to graduates of Athens High School and high schools within surrounding Athens County. Recipients must demonstrate academic merit and continued advancement.

Carole J. Marchal Scholarship Fund
The scholarship honors the memory of Carole Jean Marchal, a 1972 Ohio University alumna who devoted her career as a physical therapist to working with children who often had multiple disabilities. The endowed fund was established in 2005 by her five siblings. The scholarship is awarded to a physical therapy student, with preference given to those from Greenville, Ohio and planning to practice in pediatric physical therapy.

Southpaw Enterprises Scholarship
Franklin D. Howard, a 1974 Ohio University graduate, president and owner of Southpaw Enterprises, Inc., which manufactures products used by physical therapists throughout the world, created this scholarship for students majoring in physical therapy. In selection of the recipient, preference if given to students who have an interest in pediatric physical therapy and/or sensory integration.

Outstanding Clinical Performance Award
Presented to a physical therapy student who has demonstrated an ex-emplary professional attitude, dependability and creativity in clinical settings, and proficiency in technique, communication skills, and documentation skills.

Outstanding Service Award
Recognizes outstanding contributions to various physical therapy organizations such as: the Ohio University Student Physical Therapy Organizations (OUPTA), the Ohio APTA Student Organization and the National American Physical Therapy Association; assignment and activity on physical therapy committees; and volunteering and participating in special assignments given by the Physical Therapy program.

Dr. Po Hickenbottom Memorial Scholarship
Established in 2007 in memory of Po Hickenbottom, a faculty member in the Physical Therapy program, this endowed scholarship goes to a student in the school who exemplifies service to the community and pediatric therapy profession. Preference is given to a candidate who wishes to practice in pe-diatric physical therapy.


Outstanding Graduates
This award is presented to outstanding graduates in the class for exceptional academic achievement, clinical performance, and service to the pro-fession, the school and the community.