Skip to: Main Content Search Main Navigation Audience Navigation
 
Apply Now For Next Semester
Advising & Registration
Bobcat Blitz - OUC
Open House Fridays
Send Me Information
Register For Classes
Search Current OHIO Chillicothe Course Offerings
Visit the OHIO Chillicothe Campus
OUC College Credit Plus
OUC Student Success Center
OUC Testing Center
OUC Class Cancelations

ASSOCIATE OF ARTS (AA)

 

At OHIO Chillicothe, students can pursue two options to earn an Associate of Arts. The first option emphasizes the Arts and Humanities. The second option allows students to study in the Social Sciences. Either degree allows students the flexibility to select from a wide variety of coursework that supports studies in the liberal arts, completion of Baccalaureate degrees, or transfers into or out of OHIO.


The Associate of Arts degree also helps students who may be undecided about a major by giving purpose to coursework. A wide variety of coursework options allow students to explore possible majors while simultaneously earning a degree. Additionally, students who change majors may qualify for an Associate of Arts degree.


For more information on the courses that can be used to complete the Associate in Arts - Arts and Humanities emphasis or the Social Science emphasis, see the OHIO academic catalog.

 

Associate of Arts Degree Printable Program Brochure


 

COURSE OF STUDY

The Associate of Arts curriculum in Arts and Humanities consists of 60 hours total, with at least 20 hours in the Arts and Humanities division. There are nearly 20 different departments in those divisions, offering courses in English, Humanities, History, Art, Theater, Film, Women’s and Gender Studies, Music, Art History, Philosophy, and Foreign Languages. OHIO Chillicothe offers a wide variety of courses in these areas, so selecting coursework depends on the menu of courses available any semester. 

 

The student must also complete ten hours in Science and an additional ten hours in Social Sciences, Tier 1 English, and Tier 1 Quantitative courses.

 

The Associate of Arts curriculum in Social Sciences consists of 60 hours total, with 20 hours in the Social Sciences division. There are nearly 20 different departments in those divisions, offering courses in History, Sociology, Political Science, Psychology, Communications, Anthropology, and Geography. OHIO Chillicothe offers a wide variety of courses in these areas, so selecting coursework depends on the menu of courses available any semester.

 

The student must also complete ten hours in Science and an additional ten hours in Arts and Humanities, Tier 1 English, and Tier 1 Quantitative courses.

 

 

LOCATION

The large number of course options in this degree makes the Associate of Arts an attractive option. Courses are offered on the Chillicothe campus and some options may be available on-line.

 

 

ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS

To qualify for admission, an applicant must be a high school graduate or GED recipient. Prospective students must be in good academic standing and must maintain a 2.0 grade point average in the area of emphasis. The degree cannot be awarded if the GPA in the major is below a 2.0.

 

 

ASSOCIATE OF ARTS COURSE REQUIREMENTS

➢ Arts & Humanities Emphasis Requirements can be found (here).

➢ Social Science Emphasis Requirements can be found (here).

 

 

FINANCIAL RESOURCES

Students are eligible for many different financial aid resources. These include:

➢  Federal Grants and Loans

➢  Ohio University Scholarships

➢  State Grants and Loans

 

To begin the process, you should apply for financial aid at www.fafsa.gov as soon as possible. For OHIO Chillicothe, use the University Federal School Code: 003100 and 003102.

 

For more information about the financial aid process, contact our Financial Aid Office at (740) 774-7289 or toll free at (877) GO-2-OUCH.

 

 

GENERAL EDUCATION

OHIO believes that, as an educated person, you need certain intellectual skills in order to participate effectively in society. These include: the ability to communicate through the written word, the ability to use quantitative or symbolic reasoning, and broad knowledge of the major fields of learning. Therefore, students must take general education courses to complete a degree.

 

 

ADVISING FAQS AND IMPORTANT FORMS
Suggested Program Template

Please see Frequently Asked Questions for Hilltopper Advising Center.

 

 

FREQUENT DEGREE COURSE OFFERINGS AT OHIO CHILLICOTHE INCLUDE:

ENG 3230 American Literature: 1918 to Present
ENG 3250 Women and Literature
ENG 3400 Introduction to Analysis of Moving Image Texts
ENG 3560 Young Adult Literature
ENG 3610 Creative Writing: Fiction
HIST 1330 Introduction to World History Since 1750
HIST 2000 Survey of United States History, 1600-1877
HIST 3095 American Constitutional History, 1880s-Present
WGSS 2000 Issues in Women’s, Gender & Sexuality Studies
WGSS 3500 Feminist Theory
ART 1100 Seeing and Knowing the Visual Arts
ART 1151 Introduction to Painting
ART 1141 Introduction to Digital Photography
THAR 1130 Acting Fundamentals I
THAR 1710 The Theatrical Experience

THAR 1730 Play Analysis and Playwriting
THAR 2300 Practicum in Production Design
SOC 2000 Contemporary Social Problems
SOC 3660 Punishment and Society
SOC 2610 Deviant Behavior

 

 

CAREER OPPORTUNITIES UPON GRADUATION

As an education based in the liberal arts, the Associate in Arts degree prepares you for work by allowing you to develop skills in communication, critical thinking, and information seeking/analysis. Employers find these skills attractive in potential job candidates. The Associate of Arts degree enables you to pursue an array of job opportunities.

 

 

FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT:

Dr. Tony M. Vinci
Associate Professor

English / Faculty Advisor
Bennett Hall 248
T: 740.774.7227
vinci@ohio.edu

 

Hilltopper Advising Center

Bennett Hall
Room 270
T: 740.774.7731

 

 

Information about the Faculty

Laura Bachus
Lecturer
Bennett Hall 261
T: 740.774.7213
bachusl@ohio.edu
Darren Baker
Associate Lecturer
Bennett Hall 015 A
T: 740.774.7277
bakerd1@ohio.edu
Dennis Dean
Emeritus Faculty
Bennett Hall 015 B
T: 740.774.6088
deane@ohio.edu
Robert Gore
Lecturer
Bennett Hall 264
T: 740.774.7725
gorel@ohio.edu
Marguerite Hernandez
Assistant Professor
Bennett Hall 260
T: 740.774.7246
hernandm@ohio.edu
Veena Kasbekar
Retired, Professor
kasbekar@ohio.edu
Richard Kowieski
Retired, Associate Professor
kowieski@ohio.edu
Margaret McAdams
Emeritus Faculty
Bennett Hall 015 B
T: 740.774.6088
mcadamsm@ohio.edu
Lance Mekeel
Visiting Assistant Professor
Bennett Hall 255
T: 740.774.7209
mekeel@ohio.edu
Debra Nickles
Assistant Professor
Bennett Hall 231
T: 740.774.7264
nickles@ohio.edu
John O'Keefe
Assistant Professor
Bennett Hall 258
T: 740.774.7269
okeefe@ohio.edu
Tony Vinci
Assistant Professor
Bennett Hall 248
T: 740.774.7227
vinci@ohio.edu
Lisa Wallace
Associate Professor
Bennett Hall 247
T: 740.774.7208
wallacel@ohio.edu
Richard Whinery
Associate Professor Emeritus
whinery@ohio.edu
Reggie Allison
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
allisonr@ohio.edu
Jenna Altomonte
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
ja240203@ohio.edu
Fotima Azimova
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
azimovaf@ohio.edu
Heidi Bender
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
benderh@ohio.edu
Lynn Bower
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
bowerl@ohio.edu
Stacy Brooks
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
brookss3@ohio.edu
Kevin Daberkow
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
daberkow@ohio.edu
Lucinda Eubanks
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
eubanks@ohio.edu
John Fisher
Instructor
Bennett Hall 137 A
T: 740.774.7750
fisherj3@ohio.edu
Cosette Fox
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
foxc2@ohio.edu
Ashley Good
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
gooda1@ohio.edu
Melissa Green
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
greenm2@ohio.edu
William Hanna
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
Monica Hatfield - Price
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
C: 614.519.6265
Mary Jayne Honnold
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
honnold@ohio.edu
Jacqueline Hyland Heath
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
heath@ohio.edu
Pamela Kraft
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
kraftp@ohio.edu
Seth Laffey
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
laffey@ohio.edu
John Mitchell
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
mitchej6@ohio.edu
Lexie Nusbaum
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
nusbaum@ohio.edu
Karen Patterson
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
pattersk@ohio.edu
Carole Pontious
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
pontious@ohio.edu
Leslie Rudy
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
rudyl1@ohio.edu
Terri Ruslander
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
ruslande@ohio.edu
Jo Sager
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
sagerj@ohio.edu
Michael Snarr
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
snarr@ohio.edu
Pamela Steele
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
steelep@ohio.edu
Mark Svede
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
svede@ohio.edu
William (Tom) Thomas
Adjunct Faculty
Bennett Hall 259
thomasw@ohio.edu