Teaching Awards

The Center for Teaching & Learning takes pride in acknowledging teaching excellence across the University. These awards are a chance to highlight the wealth of talent at OHIO and recognize faculty for their accomplishments.

University Professor Award

The University Professor Award recognizes outstanding teaching at the University, and benefits faculty and students alike. Students bestow the honor of University Professor on four members yearly, after a selection process that begins with nominations from the student body. The honored faculty members then have the freedom to develop and teach a course of their choosing during the following year as a means of enriching the undergraduate curriculum. Since its founding in 1970, the University Professor program has recognized more than 200 professors for their teaching excellence.

2020–2021 University Professor Award Recipients

  • DeLysa Burnier, Political Science
  • Brian David Evans, Theater
  • William Albert Young II, Analytics and Information Systems
  • Linda Joan Zionkowski, English

View all previous winners [PDF]

Read the OHIO News article about the 2020–21 recipients

A professor accepts a framed certificate for the University Professor award

Graduate Associate Outstanding Teaching Award

In 1987, the Graduate Associate Outstanding Teaching Award was inaugurated by the provost to recognize outstanding teaching of graduate student teaching associates at Ohio University. Unlike other universities with similar awards, the selection process at Ohio University is conducted entirely by undergraduate students who volunteer their time to serve on the selection committee.

Certificates for the Graduate Associate Outstanding Teaching Award line a table at the ceremony

2020 Graduate Associate Outstanding Teaching Award Recipients

  • Raeven A. Bastock, Interdisciplinary Molecular and Cellular Biology
  • Kellye Annora Blosser, Communication Media Arts
  • Logan P. Jacobs, Geology
  • Matthew Valdovinos, Film

Read the OHIO News article about the 2019 recipients