News & Events  arrow

Bayless named National Academy of Inventors fellow for engineering innovation

Andrea Gibson, Office of Research Communications Dec 10, 2013


Bayless named National Academy of Inventors fellow for engineering innovation

Andrea Gibson, Office of Research Communications December 10, 2013

ATHENS, Ohio (Dec. 10, 2013)—Ohio University Loehr Professor of Mechanical Engineering David Bayless has been named a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors for his development of engineering technologies that seek to address the nation's energy and environmental problems.

Fellows are nominated by their peers for outstanding contributions to innovation in areas such as patents and licensing, innovative discovery and technology, significant impact on society and support and enhancement of innovation.The 143 innovators elected to National Academy of Inventors Fellow status this yearrepresent 94 universities and governmental and non-profit research institutions.

During his 18 years as a faculty member in Ohio University's Russ College of Engineering and Technology, Bayless has investigated a number of issues for the advanced energy and environmental remediation field, including new ways to use coal as an energy source. He has been a leader in coal and biomass gasification through ultra-high temperature steam reforming, as well as in adapting planar solid oxide fuel cells to use coal-derived syngas.

Bayless also has focused on creating solutions for efficiently and effectively growing and harvesting algae for use by the growing state and national industries that seek biomass for energy or health and medical purposes. This work led to his creation of ECO2Capture, Inc., a startup company located at Ohio University's Innovation Center. Bayless and his co-inventors have developed a patented technology that enables industrial operations and power plants to recycle carbon emissions directly from flue gas by growing algae in a bioreactor. The algae feedstock can be harvested and used in pharmaceuticals, as a food additive and as biofuel.

Bayless holds five U.S. patents, 25 international patents and has 13 patent applications pending.

He credits his strong community of innovative faculty members, graduate students and undergraduate students for helping him achieve success.  

"Ohio University—from the Russ College of Engineering and Technology to the Technology Transfer Office—supports invention and entrepreneurship, which creates an environment that can foster innovation.  The students and faculty are engaged, and we all encourage each other," Bayless said.

Bayless will be inducted during the 3rd Annual Conference of the National Academy of Inventors on March 7 in Alexandria, Va. Fellows will be presented with a special trophy and a rosette pin.  
"Since I've been dean, Dr. Bayless has been the leader of the Russ College and Ohio University's efforts in energy and the environment research. The Russ College's choice of energy and the environment as one of only three strategic research focus areas is a tribute to the quality of his work at Ohio University—and the good he creates," said Dennis Irwin, dean of the Russ College of Engineering and Technology.

Bayless is the third Ohio University faculty member to be named a National Academy of Inventors fellow. In 2012, John Kopchick of the Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine and Edison Biotechnology Institute and Gerardine Botte of the Russ College of Engineering and Technology received the honor.
The National Academy of Inventors is a non-profit member organization comprised of U.S. and international universities and governmental and non-profit research institutions, with over 3,000 individual inventor members and fellows spanning more than 200 institutions. It was founded in 2010 to recognize and encourage inventors with patents issued from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, enhance the visibility of academic technology and innovation, encourage the disclosure of intellectual property, educate and mentor innovative students and translate the inventions of its members to benefit society.


Photo credit: Rebecca Miller, Russ College of Engineering and Technology


Written by: Andrea Gibson, Office of Research Communications

Media Contact: Andrea Gibson, director of research communications, (740) 597-2166,gibsona@ohio.edu.