Ohio University

Search within:

About Us

Kristin M. Distel: Editor-in-Chief

Kristin M. Distel is a doctoral candidate of English literature at Ohio University. Her in-progress dissertation examines the role that shame plays in the development of eighteenth-century novels and their female characters.

Kristin has presented papers at The University of Oxford, The University of Manchester, the Sorbonne, the Modern Language Association, the American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies, and many other venues. Her poems have been published in Glass: A Journal of Poetry, Coldnoon, The Minetta Review, Flyover Country Review, The Broken Plate, The Stockholm Review of Literature, and elsewhere . She has recently published scholarly articles and book chapters on Kate Chopin, Toni Morrison, Larry Levis, Natasha Trethewey, Phillis Wheatley, and Mather Byles. Her co-edited volume, a reissue of Sherwood Anderson’s The Triumph of the Egg, will be published by Hastings College Press in 2018.

Kristin holds a Bachelor of Arts in English from Ashland University, a Master of Arts in English from The University of Toledo and a Master of Fine Arts in poetry from Ashland University.

In addition to her work with Parlour, she serves as the poetry editor for The Critical Pass Review , the assistant editor for Quarter after Eight , and the associate editor for Ohio University’s Arts and Sciences Forum. She is also chairperson of the American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies graduate student caucus.

More information about Kristin’s research is available at her website.

Regina Yoong Yui Jien: Assistant Editor

Regina Yoong Yui Jien is a doctoral student in literature at Ohio University. Her field of interest is in nineteenth-century American literature, especially issues of religion, race, and womanhood. A Fulbright scholar from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Regina is also a published poet and a contributing editor to Harvard Divinity School's Cosmologics Magazine.

Carrie Ann Verge: Founder

Carrie Ann Verge received her BA in Art History and MA in English Literature from Eastern Michigan University and a Ph.D in English Literature from Ohio University. Since 2012, Carrie Ann has worked to help under-served and vulnerable populations both on-campus and in the Athens, Ohio community. She currently works as an instructor for the Academic Achievement Center and the English department at Ohio University. In this role, Carrie Ann works closely with underprepared, first-year, and developmentally challenged students to achieve academic success through fundamental learning strategies and meditation. As part of her commitment to the Athens community, Carrie Ann has worked for several local non-profits including ReUse Industries as a board member and Survivor Advocacy Outreach Program (SAOP) as an advocate for survivors of sexual assault and domestic violence. She is the founder of the critical journal Parlour: A Journal of Literary Criticism and Analysis, co-parent to an incredibly spoiled cat, Moogie, and enjoys eating sandwiches in her spare time. You can contact Carrie Ann at vergec@ohio.edu

Associate Editors:

Aaron Babcock: Twentieth-century American literature

Sayan Chatterjee: Victorian literature, postcolonial and transnational theory, empire studies, migrant and exilic literature

Anna Chotlos: nonfiction (creative writing)

Allison Combs: Twentieth-century literature and animal studies

Josh Davis: Twentieth-century women's literature

Hillary Foreman: fiction (creative writing), twentieth- and twenty-first-century literature

April Fuller: Eighteenth- and nineteenth-century British literature

Lucero Gonzalez: twentieth-century American literature, Latinx literature

Kennedy Jones: rhetoric and composition

Jack Kapluck: Renaissance literature

Jeffrey McCambridge: English language Renaissance literature

Devan Murphy: Nineteenth-century literature

Joey Ozias: Twentieth- and twenty-first-century literature

Jen Reeher: Twentieth-century women's literature

Tanner Sebastian: Nineteenth-century drama

Samuel Stinson: Rhetoric and composition

Sean Whelan: Rhetoric and composition