About the Program

The Margaret Boyd Scholars Program seeks to inspire and encourage undergraduate women to become engaged, confident and connected leaders at Ohio University and beyond. Women are selected as Boyd Scholars in fall semester of their first year. The four-year program includes a first-year seminar, a second-year residential component, a third-year internship experience and a fourth-year capstone seminar.

The Margaret Boyd Scholars Program is open to students from all colleges and majors. Scholars are encouraged to pursue other interests, including study abroad, athletics and involvement in campus and community organizations. 

Named in honor of Margaret Boyd, Ohio University’s first female graduate [of the class of 1873], the program is a collaboration between the Division of Student Affairs, the Office for Diversity and Inclusion and University College. The Margaret Boyd Scholars Program is a 2012 grant recipient of the prestigious 1804 Fund.

Request more information about the Margaret Boyd Scholars Program by e-mailing boydscholars@ohio.edu.

Advisory Board Members

Cindy Anderson, Ph.D.
Professor of Sociology
151 Bentley Annex
Athens, OH 45701
T:  593-1385

Gerardine G. Botte, Ph.D.
Russ Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Director, Center for Electrochemical Engineering Research
165 Stocker Center
Athens, OH. 45701
T: 740-593-9670

Jennifer Bowie, M.S.
Executive Director of Development, 
Advancement Communications and Marketing
University Advancement
206 McKee House
Athens, OH. 45701
T: 740-597-2987

Melissa Haviland, MFA
Associate Professor of Art
Associate Director, School of Art
528 Seigfred Hall
Athens, OH 45701
T: 740-593-9996

Michelle O’Malley, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Linguistics
383 Gordy Hall
Athens, OH 45701
T:  740-593-4321

Nancy Sandler, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Physics
368 C Clippinger Lab
Athens, OH 45701
T:  740-593-9434

Miriam Shadis, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History
455 Bentley Annex
Athens, OH. 45701
T: 740-593-4364








Program Staff

Patricia McSteen, PhD
Associate Dean of Students and
Director of the Margaret Boyd Scholars Program
Baker University Center 345
One Park Place
Athens, OH 45701
T: 740-593-1800

Tanya N. Barnett, MA
Director of the Full-Time MBA and PMBA programs and Associate Director of Graduate Student Success College of Business
Copeland Hall 409D
1 Ohio University
Athens, OH 45701
T: 740.593.2452

Boyd Scholars Title Image