Skip to: Main Content Search Main Navigation Audience Navigation

Ohio University is open

Portion of West Union Street remains closed following multiple structure fire. More Information
 

V8 -- Marking Content as Expired

This creates a mechanism to notify you when it is time to review page content to see whether any updates are needed. You can also mark content as expired, so that it will not be visible to non-administrators. When content has expired, you can set CommonSpot to automatically redirect any non-administrator who attempts to access the page, taking that user to the proper URL of your choice.

Some of the people who try to access the expired page will do so by following a link from another CommonSpot page. For those people, you can speed their access to the proper URL by telling CommonSpot to update any other CommonSpot page that has a link leading to the expired page, changing the destination of that link. That method is discussed online under the title, "Referring Pages." That approach, unlike setting a redirect as discussed here, cannot be readily reversed.

You would still also do the steps below, for the benefit of people who come to your expired page from another system, and to prevent any other pagemaster or content contributor from linking to your expired page. 

  1. Login and navigate to your page whose content you are concerned to keep up-to-date, or to mark as out-of-date. 

  2. Click on the pencil tool icon at the upper-right and select Work on this Page, or Work on this Page (All Changes).

  3. Click the "Properties" (at the left end of the top row of the content-spanning toolbar), and select "Standard...".

  4. The (content) "Expiration" section is near the bottom of the Standard Properties lightbox.

  5. You can specify either no expiration (by clicking on "Clear") or a specific date (by clicking on the calendar icon, and then clicking on the date twice; if you want it to happen right away, select yesterday or any prior day).

  6. Once a date is selected, you will see the action choices. Those action choices are no action, notifying yourself, denying the general public access to the content, denying everyone access to the content, and re-directing users to another page. In the usual case of redirecting:

    • If you redirect to a CommonSpot page, then use the "Choose" button to make the link; the pages will be listed in order by filename, rather than by title.

    • If you redirect to a non-CommonSpot page, then be sure to type the full URL, starting with "http://".

  7. Don't forget to click on "Next" or "Save" when you are done.

  8. Once the redirect is established, anyone who has logged in and has authoring access to that page will see a notice about the redirect; everyone else will just get redirected.