Charge and Membership

University Curriculum Council

The University Curriculum Council is the final organization in a system of committees composed of departmental curriculum committees, college curriculum committees, and the University Curriculum Council itself. The function of the University Curriculum Council is to make recommendations concerning:

    * addition and deletion of academic programs;
    * after formal review, the quality and priority of existing academic programs;
    * addition, deletion, and changes in courses; and
    * academic requirements.

The Curriculum Council is the final recommending voice in curricular matters. Its recommendations go through the Provost to the President for final approval.

The University Curriculum Council is organized into four standing committees: Program, Review, Individual Course, and General Education. The Program Committee is concerned with addition, deletion, and first follow-up of new programs. The Review Committee is concerned with cyclic review and evaluation of existing programs. The Individual Course Committee is concerned with coordination at the university level of addition, deletion, and changes in all course offerings. The General Education Committee is concerned with addition, deletion, and changes in all general education course offerings and with review and revision of general education structure and policies. If they cannot be assigned to a standing committee, issues concerning educational and program requirements will be reviewed by a special committee appointed by the chairperson. When dealing with graduate programs, the Curriculum Council and its committees work with the Graduate Council. 

Composition  

Faculty :  30 Voting (1 Vice Chair of Faculty Senate, Serves as UCC Chair; 16 At Large; 12 EPSA Members; 1 Chair of Graduate Council)
Students :  7 Voting (2 Graduate Students, 2 Alternate Graduate Students; 5 Undergraduate Students, 5 Alternate Undergraduate Students)
Administrative : 14 Voting (10 College Deans/Dean Equivalent; 1 Assoc. Provost for International Studies; 1 Assoc. Provost for Graduate Studies; 1 Regional Campus Dean, chosen by Reg. Campus Deans; 1 Professional Staff of Alden Library) 1 Non-Voting, Ex-Officio: EVPP Rep.
Classified : 0

Total : 52 (1 Non-Voting Ex-Officio)


Committee Roster

Faculty
David Thomas, Chair, '15 (COFA) thomasda@ohio.edu
Christine Mattley--(Grad Council Chair) mattley@ohio.edu
Youmee Kim, '17 (Music) kimy5@ohio.edu
Jerry Miller, '17 (Communication Studies) millerj5@ohio.edu
James Zedaker, '17 (Rehabilitation & Communication Studies) zedaker@ohio.edu
Pramod Kanwar, '17 (Math, Regional Higher Educaiton, Zanesville) kanwar@ohio.edu
Rebecca Barlag, '17 (Group II, Chemistry) barlag@ohio.edu
Hala Annabi, '15 (COB) annabi@ohio.edu
Deak Arch, '15 (Aviation) arch@ohio.edu
Orianna Carter, '15 (Biology) cartero@ohio.edu
David Ingram, '15 (Physics) ingram@ohio.edu
Molly Morris, '15 (Biological Sciences) morrism@ohio.edu
Ginger Weade, ' 16 (Patton) weade@ohio.edu
Mary Rogus, '16 (Scripps) rogus@ohio.edu
Emilia Alonso-Sameno, '16 (A&S) markse@ohio.edu
Darrell Fawley, '16 (Military Science) fawley@ohio.edu
Scott Sparks, '16 (Patton) sparks@ohio.edu
Lisa Villamil, '16 (Scripps) villamil@ohio.edu
Jessie Roberson, '16 (COB) roberson@ohio.edu
Hans Kruse, '16 (Scripps) kruse@ohio.edu
Thomas Scanlan, '16 (Englisch) scanlant@ohio.edu
Ruth Palmer EPSA (English) palmerr@ohio.edu
Hogan Sherrow, EPSA (Sociology & Anthropology) sherrow@ohio.edu
David Carr, EPSA (Recreation and Sport Pedagogy) carrd@ohio.edu
RuthAnn Althaus, EPSA (Social and Public Health) althaus@ohio.edu
Barbara Trube, EPSA (Health & Human Services) trube@ohio.edu
Laura Black, EPSA (Communication Studies) blackl1@ohio.edu

Undergraduate Students
Awaiting Appointments

Graduate Students
Awaiting Appointments

Administrators
Kelly Broughton
Joseph Shields
Elizabeth Sayrs, Dean
William Willan, Dean
Dennis Irwin, Dean
Randall Leite, Dean
Renee Middleton, Dean
Scott Titsworth, Dean
Hugh Sherman, Dean
Jeremy Webster, Dean
Robert Frank, Dean
Mark Weinberg, Director Voinovich School
Lorna Jean Edmonds, Vice Provost for Global Affairs 



All University committees follow the academic-year calendar. All students serve one-year terms. Undergraduate students are indicated by US and graduate students by GS. Faculty, administrators and staff generally serve three-year terms; the year a committee member's term expires is shown to the right of the person's name. Individuals who are not students and who have no year to the right of their names have Ex-Officio appointments. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.