Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation

Faculty and Staff


The faculty and staff of the Scripps College of Communication are a dynamic, talented and diverse group making contributions throughout the industry in myriad ways. If you know of a faculty or staff member doing important work, please let us know by submitting story ideas through our New Tips form.


Faculty and staff resources



Curriculum Committee
Beth Novak (Dean's Office)
Trevor Roycroft (ITS)
Ellen Gerl (JOUR)
Drew McDaniel (MDIA)
Stan Alost (VICO)
Claudia Hale (COMS)
College Undergraduate Committee
Beth Novak (Dean's Office)
Phil Campbell (ITS)
Eddith Dashiell (JOUR)
Jeff Redefer (MDIA)
Becky Sell (VICO)
Lynn Harter (COMS)
College Scholarship Committee
John Hoag (ITS)
Mary Rogus (JOUR)
George Korn (MDIA)
Marcy Nighswander (VICO)
Dan West (COMS)
College Graduate Committee
Michelle Ferrier (Dean's Office)
Andy Snow (ITS)
Mike Sweeney (JOUR)
Roger Cooper (MDIA)
Gary Kirksey (VICO)
Ben Bates (COMS
Dean’s Advisory Committee
Joan Butcher (WOUB)
Andy Snow (ITS)
Bill Reader (JOUR)
Karen Riggs (MDIA)  Frederick Lewis alt
Gary Kirksey (VICO)
Roger Aden (COMS)
College Promotion and Tenure Committee
Scott Titsworth (Dean, Chair)
Hans Kruse (ITS)
Michael Sweeney (JOUR)
Marilyn Greenwald (JOUR)
Steve Howard (MDIA)
Larry Hamel-Lambert (VICO)
Devika Chawla (COMS)
Austin Babrow (COMS)
Professional Ethics Committee
(S = Senate appt., D = Dean appt.)
Christina Beck, COMS (S)
Marcy Nighswander, VICO (D)
College Sexual Harassment Committee
Julio Arauz (ITS)
Marilyn Greenwald (JOUR)
Jenny Nelson (MDIA)
Julie Elman (VICO)
Austin Babrow (COMS)
College Building Committee
Tom Daniels, Chair 
Brittany Peterson (COMS)
John Hoag (ITS)
Mary Rogus (JOUR)
John Bowditch (MDIA)
William Schneider (VICO)
E-Learning and Program Innovation Committee
Jerry Miller (COMS)
Karen Riggs (MDIA)
Ellen Gerl (JOUR)
Trevor Roycroft (ITS)
Sam Girton (VICO)
International Programs Committee
Yea Wen Chen, Chair (COMS)
Frederick Lewis (MDIA)
Yusuf Kalyango (JOUR)
Phil Campbell (ITS)
Lisa Villamil (VICO)
Innovation Fund Committee
Hans Meyer (JOUR)
Hans Kruse (ITS)
Marcy Nighswander (VICO)
J.W. Smith (COMS)
Greg Newton (MDIA)
Mike Philipps (Scripps Howard)
Sue Porter (Scripps Howard)
Adam Symson (Scripps Howard)
Technology Committee
* Heather Krugman (College IT, Chair)
Ricky Chilcott (Dean's Office)
John Bowditch (College)
Doug Bowie (College IT)
Doug Pettit (College IT)
Roger Aden (COMS Faculty)
Hugh Martin (JOUR Faculty)
Julio Arauz (ITS Faculty)
Becky Sell (VICO Faculty)
Won Choi (VICO Grad Student)
Brian Plow (MDIA Faculty)