Presidential Teacher Awards

Cutler Alden Scripps Panorama

Cutler Hall and Alden Library 

Bar for top and bottom of Provost header
spacer for between menu and image links

Presidential Teachers at Ohio University

frost raymond for PTA website 

Ramond  Frost

2012-13 to 2015-16

Information coming soon.


Emilia Alonso Sameno Presidential Teacher 2012-13 through 2015-16. 

Emilia  Alonso Sameno

2012-13 to 2015-16

Information on its way.



Harvey  Ballard

2011-12 to 2014-15

Associate Professor of Environmental and Plant Biology, Harvey Ballard was nominated by a committee of faculty within the Department of Environmental and Plant Biology. The PTA committee commended his "student centric" approach to teaching, in which he develops comfortable and respectful relationships. Read more at:


Frederick  Lewis

2011-12 to 2014-15

Associate Professor of Media Arts and Studies, Frederick Lewis was given this award for his significant role in transforming the curriculum of the Media Arts and Studies program."Fred's advanced narrative class has made a phenomenal impact on students...Read more at:


Nancy  Tatarek

2011-12 to 2014-15

Associate Professor of Sociology and Anthropology, Nancy Tatarek impressed the PTA committee with her creativity in the classroom through the use of innovative learning tools. Read more at:


Lisa  Wallace

2011-12 to 2014-15

Wallace, who teaches on the Chillicothe campus, was nominated by two of her students, Neeley Clary and Rae Fout. The PTA committee saw Wallace as an excellent candidate because she has already become a highly respected teacher and mentor to other faculty in her short tenure at Ohio University. Read more here:



Debra  Henderson

2007-08 to 2010-11

Dr. Henderson " spectacular at student engagement...In her sociology classes, the material could be so theoretical, with the students never experiencing the (world's) problems. But she takes it beyond an educational level. Students go through the problems and (get involved to) help turn them around. It's amazing."  Read more at:



Pramod  Kanwar

2007-08 to 2010-11

Dr. Kanwar is recognized for his exceptional research and national and international reputation as an elite mathematics scholar. While earning excellent student evaluations for his teaching methods, he has authored nine research articles and given 18 traditional research- and teaching-oriented presentations at regional, national and international conferences. He is praised for encouraging students to use critical thinking skills and for his implementation of the latest teaching technology in his courses. 


Brian Scott  Titsworth

2007-08 to 2010-11

In his scholarship, Dr. Titsworth uses quantitative methods to explore how communication is connected to students' learning experiences. He is the author or co-author on a number of peer-reviewed articles and other publications. The quality of his research, publication record, grant activities, and his teaching has drawn a number of doctoral students to work with him. To date, he has served as an adviser to 12 Ph.D. students. 


Connie  Esmond-Kiger

2006-07 to 2009-10



Sarah  Wyatt

2006-07 to 2009-10



Jennifer  Chabot

2005-06 to 2008-09



Mary  Rogus

2005-06 to 2008-09



Richard  Greenlee

2004-05 to 2007-08



Daniel  Modaff

2004-05 to 2007-08



Raymond  Frost

2003-04 to 2006-07



Arthur  Trese

2003-04 to 2006-07



William  Condee

2002-03 to 2005-06



Karen  Eichstadt

2002-03 to 2005-06



Loreen  Giese

2002-03 to 2005-06



Lois  Vines

2001-02 to 2004-05



DeLysa  Burnier

2000-01 to 2003-04



Carolyn  Tice

2000-01 to 2003-04