home

 

contemporary social problems

 

course schedule

Wednesday, September 07, 2011
Course Introduction
Reading(s):Course Syllbus

 

Monday, September 12, 2011
A Brief Review of Sociology
The Sociological Imagination
The Importance of Critical Thinking
Reading(s): A list of fallacies
A list of values
The Importance of Critical Thinking
"The Promise," C. Wright Mills

 

Wednesday, September 14, 2011
Inequality and Social Class
Reading(s): "Shadowy Lines That Still Divide" from the New York Times

 

Monday, September 19, 2011
Poverty
Reading(s):

Lauer & Lauer, Chapter 6 and
Code of the Streets

 

Wednesday, September 21, 2011
Race, Inequality, and Poverty
Reading(s): Lauer & Lauer, Chapter 8

 

Monday, September 26, 2011
Where the problem started...
Reading(s): Braman, Intro, Chapters 1 through 6

 

Wednesday, September 28, 2011
The Social Costs of Incarceration
Reading(s): Braman, Chapters 7 through 9

 

Monday, October 03, 2011
Reading(s): Chapters 10 through 16

 

Wednesday, October 05, 2011
Reading(s): Chapters 17 to the end

 

Monday, October 10, 2011
Consumption in America
Reading(s): Schor, Chapters 1 & 2

 

Reading(s):

 

Wednesday, October 12, 2011
MIDTERM EXAM
Reading(s):

 

Monday, October 17, 2011
Reading(s): Schor, Chapters 3 through 6

 

Wednesday, October 19, 2011
Reading(s): Schor, Chapter 7

 

Monday, October 24, 2011
 
Reading(s): Manjoo, Intro, Chapters 1 and 2

 

Wednesday, October 26, 201
 
Reading(s): Manjoo Chapter 3

 

Monday, October 31, 2011
 
Reading(s): Manjoo Chapter 4

 

Wednesday, November 02, 2011
Reading(s): Manjoo, Chapter 5

 

Monday, November 07, 2011
Reading(s): Manjoo, Chapter 6 and epilogue

 

Wednesday, November 09, 201
Reading(s): None. Work on Projects in class today

 

Monday, November 14, 2011
Reading(s): Wrap up

 

Wednesday, November 16, 2011
Final Exam
7:00 PM, 236 Bentley Hall