home

 

punishment and society

 

course schedule

Wednesday, September 07, 2011
Course Introduction
Reading(s):Course Syllbus

 

Monday, September 12, 2011
The History of Modern Punishment
Reading(s):Johnson, Chapters 1 & 2

 

Wednesday, September 14, 2011
Reading(s):Johnson, Chapter 3

 

Monday, September 19, 2011
Life in a Private Prison
Reading(s):Johnson, Chapters 4 & 5

 

Wednesday, September 21, 2011
The Society of Captives
Reading(s):Starr 1987
Bailey 1987

 

Monday, September 26, 2011
Reading(s): Caplan 2003
Carceral, Forward, Chapters 1 through 6

 

Wednesday, September 28, 2011
Reading(s):Carceral, Chapters 7 through 10

 

Monday, October 03, 2011
Reading(s):Carceral, Chapters 11 through 16

 

Wednesday, October 05, 2011
Reading(s):Carceral, Chapter 17

 

Conover, Chapters 1 & 2
Monday, October 10, 2011
Doing Time from 9 to 5
Reading(s):Newjack, Intro and Chapter 1
essay one due today

 

Wednesday, October 12, 2011
MIDTERM
Reading(s):

 

Monday, October 17, 2011
Reading(s):Conover, Chapters 3 & 4 to page 157

 

Wednesday, October 19, 2011
Reading(s):Conover, page 157 through Chapter 5
Johnson, Chapter 8

 

Monday, October 24, 2011
Reading(s): 

 

Wednesday, October 26, 2011
Reading(s):Braman, Intro, Chapters 1 through 6

 

Monday, October 31, 2011
Reading(s):Braman, Chapters 7 through 9

 

Wednesday, November 02, 2011
Reading(s):Johnson, Chapter 10

 

Wednesday, November 09, 2011
Reading(s): Braman, Chapters 13 - 18

 

Friday, November 11, 2011
  Essay 2 due by 12 Noon in Craig's Mailbox (#23) Soc/Anthro Dept in Bentley Annex

 

Monday, November 14, 2011
Reading(s): Braman, Finish the book
Course wrapup

 

Thursday, November 17, 2011
FINAL EXAM
Reading(s):