MATH 2301 (8531-105), Fall 2013

Calculus I

Catalog Description:
First course in calculus and analytic geometry with applications in the sciences and engineering. Includes basic techniques of differentiation and integration with applications including rates of change, optimization problems, and curve sketching; includes exponential, logarithmic and trigonometric functions. No credit for both MATH 2301 and 1350.
Desired Learning Outcomes:
Students can use the tools of differential and integral calculus in a variety of applications.
Requisites:
(A or better in MATH 163A) or (B or better in MATH 1350) or (C or better in MATH 1300 or MATH 1322) or (Math placement level 3)
Instructor:
Martin J. Mohlenkamp, mohlenka@ohio.edu, (740)593-1259, 315B Morton Hall.
Office hours: Monday 3:05-4pm, Wednesday 3:05-4pm, and Friday 12:55-1:50pm, or by appointment.
Web page:
http://www.ohio.edu/people/mohlenka/20141/2301.
Class hours/ location:
Monday, Wednesday, and Friday 2:00-2:55pm in 115 Morton Hall. Students are also enrolled in one of the recitation sections:
Text:
James Stewart. Essential Calculus: Early Transcendentals. Edition: 2nd. Publisher: Cengage. 2013.
Note:
You will need to purchase access to the WebAssign online homework system, which includes an eBook version of the text ($75 for one semester or $110 for multi-term). You can use WebAssign free for the first 14 days of the semester. If you choose to also purchase a paper version of the text, I recommend you either purchase a new book "bundled" with an access code for Webassign or save money by getting the first edition of the book, or another similar book.
Online Homework:
We will use WebAssign for online homework, which you access through your Blackboard account. The system includes an eBook version of the text, video tutorials, and other materials.
Text Homework:
From each section of the book, several homework problems are listed. The online homework problems are essentially a subset of the text homework problems. The problems in the text are not collected or graded, but you are still expected to do them; in particular, they are the basis for the common final exam.
Matlab Homework:
There are 5 homeworks using the MatLab software package. Do them in a group of two or three and submit one solution with all names on it.
Recitation Groupwork:
In most weeks there will be a graded group work activity during the recitation. Your lowest two scores for the semester will be dropped. In a group of 3-4 students, you will work on 2-3 challenging or conceptual problems. At the end of recitation you submit a single solution paper with all your names on it (if there is disagreement within the group, some can turn in a dissenting opinion).
Tests:
There will be three mid-term tests, in class. Calculators are not permitted. Bring your student ID to the tests.
Final Exam:
The final exam is on Friday, December 13, at 2:30 pm in 127 Morton. This is a combined exam with other sections of MATH 2301. Calculators are not permitted. Bring your student ID to the exam.
Grade:
Your grade is based on Matlab homework at 5%, online homework at 10%, recitation groupwork at 15%, three tests at 15% each, and the final exam at 25%. If your lowest test grade is lower than your final exam grade, then that test will be dropped and the final exam counted for 40% of your grade. An average of 90% guarantees you at least an A-, 80% a B-, 70% a C-, and 60% a D-.
Missed or late work:
For the online homework, only the portion you have completed by the deadline is counted; extensions will be given if the server goes down, we get behind in class, etc. Group work in recitations cannot be made up, but your lowest two scores will be dropped. A missed test (without prior approval) cannot be made up, but your lowest test score can be replaced by your final exam score. Matlab homeworks are penalized 5% for each class day late. Amendment: You can get a 2-day extension on any WebAssign homework with a 30% penalty on any points you earn due to the extension.
Attendance:
I do not count attendance in your grade, since absences will automatically penalize you through your loss of learning.
Electronic Devices:
Computers, tablets, smartphones, and calculators are permitted in class for learning purposes (consulting the eBook text, producing graphs, etc.). Other uses, especially any that distract your classmates, are prohibited.
Academic Dishonesty:
The online homework must be done by you, but you may use any help that you can find; keep in mind that the purpose of the homework is to develop your ability to do such problems on your own. The tests and final exam must be your own work, and without the aid of books, notes, calculators, phones, etc. Dishonesty will result in a zero on that work, and possible failure in the class and a report to the university judiciaries.
Special Needs:
If you have specific physical, psychiatric, or learning disabilities and require accommodations, please let me know as soon as possible so that your learning needs may be appropriately met.
Learning Resources:
  • Your classmates are your best resource. Use them!
  • OHIO Calculus webpage and MATH 2301 Handbook
  • The Ohio University Academic Advancement Center offers Supplemental Instruction and a Math Center. There is a MATH 2301 SI facebook page.
  • Wikipedia's Calculus
  • Just Math Tutorials Calculus videos
  • Free Single Variable Calculus online textbook.
  • Schedule

    Subject to change. Thursday meetings are recitations.
    Week Date Section/Topic Text Homework (ungraded) Materials WebAssign/ Matlab/ Groupwork/ Test (graded)
    1
    Mon Aug 26 Introduction sage tool
    Chapter 1: Functions and limits
    Wed Aug 28 1.3 The Limit of a Function 2, 3, 5, 8, 12, 21 sage WebAssign Introduction
    Thu Aug 29 Groupwork
    Fri Aug 30 1.4 Calculating Limits 2, 3, 10, 12, 15, 17-23, 28-33, 35, 42, 43, 45, 47 sage WebAssign diagnostic test on prerequisites
    2
    Mon Sep 2 Labor day holiday, no class
    Wed Sep 4 1.5 Continuity 3, 4, 6, 13-16, 29, 30, 32, 37, 39, 41, 45 WebAssign 1.3
    Thu Sep 5 Groupwork
    Fri Sep 6 1.6 Limits involving infinity 1-6, 13-31 odd, 41, 42 sage WebAssign 1.4 (drop deadline)
    3
    Chapter 2: Derivatives
    Mon Sep 9 2.1 Derivatives and Rates of Change 1, 4, 5-11 odd, 15-18, 23, 25, 27, 43 sage WebAssign 1.5
    Wed Sep 11 2.2 The Derivative as a Function 1-13 odd, 17-22, 35, 36 sage WebAssign 1.6
    Thu Sep 12 video Groupwork
    Fri Sep 13 2.3 Basic Differentiation Formulas 1-35 odd, 43, 45, 47, 49, 51 sage WebAssign 2.1
    4
    Mon Sep 16 2.4 The Product and Quotient Rules 3-29 odd, 51, 55 sage WebAssign 2.2
    Wed Sep 18 WebAssign 2.3
    Thu Sep 19 Test preparation samples
    Fri Sep 20 WebAssign 2.4; Test on 1.3-1.6 and 2.1-2.4
    5
    Mon Sep 23 2.5 The Chain Rule 1-35 odd, 39, 47, 51, 53, 57, 62 sage
    Wed Sep 25 2.6 Implicit Differentiation 1-17 odd, 21, 25, 32 sage MatLab: Limits and Derivatives
    Thu Sep 26 Groupwork
    Fri Sep 27 WebAssign 2.5
    6
    Mon Sep 30 2.7 Related Rates 1, 22 3-17 odd, 25, 29 WebAssign 2.6
    Wed Oct 2 2.8 Linear Approximations and Differentials 1, 5, 11, 12, 15, 17, 19, 20, 21, 23, 24
    Thu Oct 3 Groupwork
    Fri Oct 4 WebAssign 2.7
    7
    Chapter 3: Inverse Functions: Exponential, Logarithmic, and Inverse Trigonometric Functions
    Mon Oct 7 3.2 Inverse Functions and Logarithms 1-25 odd, 18, 29-39 odd, 44, 46, 48, 63 WebAssign 2.8
    Wed Oct 9 3.3 Derivatives of Logarithmic and Exponential Functions 1-21 odd, 25-49 odd, 65 sage MatLab: Derivatives
    Thu Oct 10 Groupwork
    Fri Oct 11 3.5 Inverse Trigonometric Functions 1-9 odd, 13, 17-25 odd, 34, 35, 37, 39 Wikipedia trig, inv WebAssign 3.2
    8
    Mon Oct 14 3.6 Hyperbolic Functions (skip inverse hyperbolic functions) 1-6, 19, 27-35, 43-46 WebAssign 3.3
    Wed Oct 16 WebAssign 3.5
    Thu Oct 17 Test preparation samples
    Fri Oct 18 WebAssign 3.6; Test on 2.5-2.8, 3.2, 3.3, 3.5, and 3.6
    9
    Chapter 4: Applications of Differentiation
    Mon Oct 21 4.1 Maximum and Minimum Values 1-17 odd, 21-29, 36, 37, 39, 41, 43, 45
    Wed Oct 23 4.2 The Mean Value Theorem 1-17 odd, 23, 26, 27 MatLab: (More) Limits
    Thu Oct 24 Groupwork
    Fri Oct 25 WebAssign 4.1
    10
    Mon Oct 28 4.3 Derivatives and the Shape of a Graph 1-11 odd, 15, 19-29 odd, 33, 35, 40, 41 WebAssign 4.2
    Wed Oct 30 4.4 Curve Sketching 5-17 odd, 21, 27, 31, 33, 37, 39, 41, 43 sage
    Thu Oct 31 Groupwork
    Fri Nov 1 WebAssign 4.3 (drop deadline with WP/WF)
    11
    Mon Nov 4 4.5 Optimization Problems 3, 5, 7, 9, 13, 15-17, 21, 22, 25, 26, 40 WebAssign 4.4
    Wed Nov 6 4.6 Newton's Method 1, 3, 5, 6, 9, 21, 22 sage MatLab: Hyperbolic Functions and the Gateway Arch
    Thu Nov 7 Groupwork
    Fri Nov 8 4.7 Antiderivatives 1-29 every 4th problem, 31-37 odd, 41, 44 sage 4.5
    12
    Mon Nov 11 Veterans day holiday, no class
    Wed Nov 13 WebAssign 4.6
    Thu Nov 14 Test preparation samples
    Fri Nov 15 WebAssign 4.7; Test on 4.1-4.7
    13
    Chapter 5: Integrals
    Mon Nov 18 5.1 Areas and Distances 1-13 odd, 14 sage
    Wed Nov 20 5.2 The Definite Integral 1-11 odd, 19-21, 23, 29, 30, 31, 33, 35, 38-40 sage MatLab: Newton's Method
    Thu Nov 21 Groupwork
    Fri Nov 22 5.3 Evaluating Definite integrals 1-29 odd, 37, 41-42, 47, 49, 52 WebAssign 5.1
    14
    Mon Nov 25 5.4 Fundamental Theorem of Calculus 1-11 odd, 15, 17, 19 WebAssign 5.2
    Wed Nov 27 Thanksgiving holiday, no class
    Thu Nov 28 Thanksgiving holiday, no class
    Fri Nov 29 Thanksgiving holiday, no class
    15
    Mon Dec 2 5.5 The Substitution Rule 1-21 odd, 22, 23, 27, 29, 30, 34, 37, 41, 43, 49, 50 WebAssign 5.3
    Wed Dec 4 WebAssign 5.4
    Thu Dec 5 Exam Preparation
    Fri Dec 6 WebAssign 5.5
    16
    Fri Dec 13 2:30 pm in 127 Morton. samples Final Exam

    Martin J. Mohlenkamp
    Last modified: Wed Dec 4 08:35:54 EST 2013