MATH 266B A01(05043), Spring 2011

Calculus with Applications to Biology II

Catalog Description:
Continuation of 266A. Integral calculus and analysis of differential equations in the context of biological applications. No credit for 266B if already credit for 163B or 263B.
Course Content:
MATH 266 is a calculus sequence that has been specifically designed to meet the needs of prospective life science majors. The mathematical concepts covered in these courses will be developed in the context of biological questions, and numerous exercises will demonstrate further applications of calculus in the life sciences. MATH 266B roughly corresponds to MATH 263B and is considered a sufficient prerequisite for MATH 263C. More detailed information about the course content can be found at http://www.math.ohiou.edu/classes/math-266.
Prerequisites:
C or better in MATH 266A.
Instructor:
Martin J. Mohlenkamp, mohlenka@ohio.edu, (740)593-1259, 315B Morton Hall.
Office hours: Monday, 1-2pm, Tuesday 1-2pm, Thursday 1-2pm, and Friday 9-10am, or by appointment.
Web page:
http://www.ohio.edu/people/mohlenka/20113/266B.
Class hours/ location:
MTuThF 12:10-1pm in 126 Morton Hall.
Text:
Calculus for Biology and Medicine, third edition, by Claudia Neuhauser; Pearson Education/Prentice Hall, 2009.
Homework:
Several problems from each section of the book are assigned. These problems will not be collected or graded, but you will need to do them in order to learn.
Good Problems:
Six Good Problems are assigned, and will be collected and graded. These are homework problems that will be graded half on content and half on presentation. The idea is to practice writing mathematics regularly but in small pieces.
Tests:
There will be four mid-term tests, in class. Calculators are not permitted.
Final Exam:
The final exam is on Monday, June 6, at 8:00 am in our regular classroom. Calculators are not permitted.
Grade:
Each Good Problem is worth 1 unit, each test is worth 2 units, and the final is worth 4 units. Your lowest 2 units will be dropped and then your average is computed and a 90% guarantees you at least an A-, 80% a B-, 70% a C-, and 60% a D-.
Missed or Late work:
Only reasons given in advance of a missed test will be considered; otherwise a score of 0 will be given. Late Good Problems are penalized 5% for each class day (or part thereof) late. You can resubmit good problems to improve your score, but the late penalty will apply.
Attendance:
Attendance is assumed but is not counted in your grade. However, you should estimate that for each class you miss your average will decrease by one point due to the learning you missed. It is your responsibility to find out any announcements made in class.
Academic Dishonesty:
You are strongly encouraged to work together on the homework. You can work together on the Good Problems, but you must acknowledge in writing what help you received and from whom. The tests and final exam must be your own work, and without the aid of notes, etc. Dishonesty will result in a zero on that work, and possible failure in the class and a report to the university judiciaries.
Special Needs:
If you have specific physical, psychiatric, or learning disabilities and require accommodations, please let me know as soon as possible so that your learning needs may be appropriately met.
Learning Resources:
  • Your classmates are your best resource. Use them!
  • The Academic Advancement Center's Math Center http://www.ohiou.edu/aac/math has drop-in help, tutors, online help, and a telephone hotline.
  • Schedule

    The Good Problems and Tests are fixed, but we may not cover sections on exactly the days shown.
    Week Date Section Materials/ Homework (ungraded) Good Problem/ Test
    1
    Applications of Differentiation
    Mon Mar 28 5.5 1-61odd
    Tue Mar 29 5.8 5,11,17,19,23, 25,27,31,36,45, 47,51,55,67
    Integration
    Thu Mar 31 6.1 1,3,7,9,13, 17,21,23,27,29, 33,35,37,49,51, 55,57,59,61,63, 68,75,77
    Fri Apr 1 Riemann demo Good Problem 1: Mathematical Autobiography, using Layout
    2
    Mon Apr 4 6.2 5,9,13,15,19, 25,33,43,45,57, 65,67,71,75,79, 81,87,89,95,99, 105,107,109,111,115, 117,119
    Tue Apr 5 6.3 (skip 6.3.5) 1,7,13,19,23, 29,35,37,40,47
    Thu Apr 7 Review
    Fri Apr 8 study guide Test 1 on 5.5, 5.8, 6.1-6.3
    3
    Integration Techniques and Computational Methods
    Mon Apr 11 7.1 1-59odd (drop deadline)
    Tue Apr 12 7.2 3,7,9,11,17, 19,21,27,31,35, 39,41,43,45,47, 49,50,53,54,57, 58,59,60,61,67, 69
    Thu Apr 14 7.3 3,5,15,29,31, 35,39,40,41,43
    Fri Apr 15 Good Problem 2: Section 7.2 #42, using Intros
    4
    Mon Apr 18 7.4 2,3,5,8,9, 11,13,17,19,25, 26,33,34
    Tue Apr 19
    Thu Apr 21 Review
    Fri Apr 22 study guide Test 2 on 7.1-7.4
    5
    Discrete Population Models
    Mon Apr 25 2.3 (skip 2.3.4) 1-29odd, 35-53odd
    Tue Apr 26 5.6 1-19odd
    Differential Equations
    Thu Apr 28 8.1 1,3,5,7,9, 13,15,21,23,25, 27,39,45,47
    Fri Apr 29 Good Problem 3: Section 5.6 #14, using Logic
    6
    Mon May 2 8.2 1,3,7,9,13, 15,21,25 (drop deadline with WP/WF)
    Tue May 3
    Thu May 5 Review
    Fri May 6 study guide Test 3 on 2.3, 5.6, 8.1, 8.2
    7
    Linear Algebra and Analytic Geometry
    Mon May 9 9.1 1-35odd
    Tue May 10
    Thu May 12 9.2 (skip 9.2.4) 1,9,21,25,29, 31,37,39,41,43, 45,53,57,59,73, 75
    Fri May 13 leslie.m Good Problem 4: Section 9.1 #36, using Flow
    8
    Mon May 16 9.3 (skip 9.3.3) 1-31odd, 37,39,41,45,53, 55,57,59,61,63, 65
    Tue May 17
    Thu May 19 Review
    Fri May 20 study guide Test 4 on 9.1-9.3
    9
    Systems of Differential Equations
    Mon May 23 11.1 1-65odd
    Tue May 24
    Thu May 26 11.2 1-27odd
    Fri May 27 Good Problem 5: Section 11.1 #14, using Graphs
    10
    Mon May 30 Memorial Day, no class
    Tue May 31 11.3 1-21odd
    Thu Jun 2
    Fri Jun 3 Review Good Problem 6: Section 11.3 #16, using Symbols
    11
    June 6 study guide Final Exam, Monday at 8:00 am, in our classroom

    Martin J. Mohlenkamp
    Last modified: Tue Mar 22 17:07:13 EDT 2011