PED 113 A01(05891), Winter 2011

Country Dance

Catalog Description:
These courses are for students wishing to gain competency in a physical activity. Courses are offered on a pass/fail basis.
Description:
We will learn American Contra dance and a selection of other traditional social dances from around the world. These dances are group dances with one person directing.
Desired Learning Outcomes:
The successful student will:
Prerequisites:
Wear comfortable clothes, and comfortable shoes that will not fall off or mark the floor. No partner required.
Instructor:
Martin J. Mohlenkamp, mohlenka@ohio.edu, (740)593-1259, 315-B Morton Hall. Assisted by Adriane Mohlenkamp, Debi Blevins (blevinsd@ohio.edu), and guest instructors.
Web page:
http://www.ohio.edu/people/mohlenka/20112/PED113.
Class hours/ location:
MW 7:10-8pm in E216 Grover Center.
Attendance:
If you miss class due to participation in a university athletic team, a family emergency, or a medical reason, you can have that absence excused by informing me in writing (or email) in advance. Retroactive excuses will require additional documentation. If you have the flu or other contagious illness, do not come to class; instead email me and I will mark you as excused.
Grade/ Attendance:
This class is graded credit (CR) or fail (F). To receive credit, you must have no more than two unexcused absences. You can make up an unexcused absence (or accumulate a spare) by attending one of the optional dances on the schedule (there will be a sign-in sheet).
Academic Dishonesty:
It is considered academic dishonesty to either: A student who engages in either of these will fail the course.
Special Needs:
If you have specific physical, psychiatric, or learning disabilities and require accommodations, please let me know as soon as possible so that your learning needs may be appropriately met.
Resources:
  • Video on how to cough and sneeze without contaminating your hands.
  • Southeast Ohio Traditional Dance Society
  • Contra dance video
  • OU Jitterbug Club
  • Schedule

    Which dances we do on which days is subject to change.
    Week Day/ Date Dance
    1 Monday January 3 American Contra-style circles
    Wednesday January 5 American Contra-style circles
    2 Monday January 10 American Contra, improper line dances
    Wednesday January 12 American Contra, improper line dances
    3 Monday January 17 (drop deadline Tuesday) Martin Luther King, Jr. day holiday, no class
    Wednesday January 19 short line dances
    4 Monday January 24 American Swing
    Wednesday January 26 Break dancing
    Saturday January 29 Optional: OU Jitterbug Club Swing dance, Baker 240, 7-8pm lesson, 8-11pm dance
    5 Monday January 31 American Swing
    Wednesday February 2 Break dancing
    6 Monday February 7 (drop deadline) English Country dance
    Wednesday February 9 English Country dance
    7 Monday February 14 Belly Dancing
    Wednesday February 16 Irish dance
    8 Monday February 21 Belly Dancing
    Wednesday February 23 Irish dance
    Saturday February 26 Optional: Community Contra Dance at the Shade Community Center
    9 Monday February 28 (tentative) Israeli or Swazi or Zydeco or Waltz or country line
    Wednesday March 2 (tentative) Israeli or Swazi or Zydeco or Waltz or country line
    10 Monday March 7 (tentative) Israeli or Swazi or Zydeco or Waltz or country line
    Wednesday March 9 (tentative) Israeli or Swazi or Zydeco or Waltz or country line

    Martin J. Mohlenkamp
    Last modified: Wed Feb 2 11:09:55 EST 2011