MATH 360 A01(04866), Spring 2010

Intermediate Analysis

Catalog Description:
Rigorous study of limits, continuity, and differentiability of functions of 1 real variable.
Desired Learning Outcomes:
  1. Students will be able to rigorously prove results in differential Calculus.
  2. Students will be able to express mathematical concepts clearly in writing.
Prerequisites:
MATH 263D & 306
Instructor:
Martin J. Mohlenkamp, mohlenka@ohio.edu, (740)593-1259, 315-B Morton Hall.
Office hours: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday 9-10am, or by appointment.
Web page:
http://www.ohio.edu/people/mohlenka/20103/360.
Class hours/ location:
MTuThF 10:10-11am in 218 Morton Hall.
Text:
Calculus Deconstructed: A Second Course in First-Year Calculus, by Zbigniew Nitecki, MAA Textbook Series, 2009. 507 pp.; ISBN: 978-0-88385-756-4. (online version)
Homework:
Ungraded:
Several homework problems will be assigned from each section in the book. These will not be collected or graded, but you may be called upon in class to present your solution or progress toward a solution.
Graded:
Approximately twice per week, a problem will be assigned for which a written solution is required. These problems require the use of the Good Problems method for mathematical writing. Thus they will be graded partly on content and partly on presentation.
Tests:
There will be two mid-term tests, in class. The first covers chapters 1 and 2 and the second covers chapter 3.
Final Exam:
The final exam is on Monday, June 7, at 10:10am in our regular classroom. The exam is cummulative, but with greater emphasis on chapter 4.
Grade:
The graded homwork is worth 45%, each test is worth 15%, and the final is worth 25%. An average of 90% guarantees you at least an A-, 80% a B-, 70% a C-, and 60% a D-.
Missed or Late work:
Late homeworks are penalized 5% for each 24 hour period or part thereof, excluding weekends and holidays. You can resubmit homeworks to improve your score, but the late penalty will apply.
Attendance:
Attendance is crucial for your learning of this material, but is not counted in your grade. It is your responsibility to find out any announcements made in class.
Academic Dishonesty:
You are strongly encouraged to work together on the ungraded homework. You can work together on the graded homework, but you must acknowledge in writing what help you received and from whom. The tests and final exam must be your own work, and without the aid of notes, etc. Dishonesty will result in a zero on that work, and possible failure in the class and a report to the university judiciaries.
Special Needs:
If you have specific physical, psychiatric, or learning disabilities and require accommodations, please let me know as soon as possible so that your learning needs may be appropriately met.
Learning Resources:
  • Your classmates are your best resource. Use them!
  • Video tutorials on Calculus.
  • Wikipedia Mathematics Portal; Wikiversity Calculus topic.
  • Schedule

    This is a draft schedule. The problem numbers and test dates are tentative.
    Week Date Section Ungraded Homework Skill/ Graded Homework/ Test
    1
    Appendix A: The Rhetoric of Mathematics (Methods of Proof)
    Mon Mar 29A Layout skill starts
    Chapter 1: Precalculus
    Tue Mar 30 1.21,3,4,6,10,11 Mathematical Autobiography
    Thu Apr 1 1.31,2,3
    Fri Apr 21.2 #16
    2
    Chapter 2: Sequences and their Limits
    Mon Apr 5 2.11,4,5,6,9,11,13,16,17,18,22,24,25,27
    Tue Apr 6 2.21,4,5,6,9,11,13,16,17,18,22,24,25,27,30 1.3 #4
    Thu Apr 8 2.31,4,5,6,9,11,13,16,17,18,22,24,25,29 Flow skill starts
    Fri Apr 92.2 #28
    3 Mon Apr 12 2.41,4,5,6,9,11,13,16,20,21,22,23,25 (drop deadline)
    Tue Apr 13 2.51,2,6,72.3 #30
    Thu Apr 15 2.61,2,3 Logic skill starts
    Fri Apr 16 2.5 #3
    4
    Chapter 3: Continuity
    Mon Apr 19 3.11-8,11
    Tue Apr 20 3.21,3,5,8,92.6 #4
    Thu Apr 22
    Fri Apr 23 study guide Test on Chapters 1 and 2
    5 Mon Apr 26 3.31,2,3,5,7
    Tue Apr 27 3.41,2,73.2 #10
    Thu Apr 29 3.51,2,3 Graphs skill starts
    Fri Apr 30 3.4 #3
    6
    Mon May 3 3.61,2,4(drop deadline with WP/WF)
    Tue May 4 3.71,2,33.5 #4 with illustrative graphs
    Chapter 4: Differentiation
    Thu May 6 4.11,2,4,5,7,10
    Fri May 7 4.21,2,3,5,8,10,12,133.7 #7
    7 Mon May 10
    Tue May 11 study guide Test on Chapter 3
    Thu May 13 4.31,3 Intros skill starts
    Fri May 14
    8 Mon May 17 4.41,2,4,5
    Tue May 18 4.51,2,34.3 #4
    Thu May 20 4.61,3,6,9 Symbols skill starts
    Fri May 21 4.5 #4
    9 Mon May 24 4.71-6,8,10
    Tue May 25 4.81,34.6 #11
    Thu May 27 4.91,3,4,9
    Fri May 284.8 #1 part j
    10 Mon May 31Memorial Day, no class
    Tue June 1 4.101,2,5,64.9 #7
    Thu June 3 4.112,3
    Fri June 4 4.10 #3
    11 June 7 study guide Final Exam Monday at 10:10am, in our classroom

    Martin J. Mohlenkamp
    Last modified: Fri Sep 3 13:53:43 EDT 2010