PED 113 A01(07699), Fall 2009

Country Dance

Catalog Description:
These courses are for students wishing to gain competency in a physical activity. Courses are offered on a pass/fail basis.
Description:
We will learn American Contra dance and a selection of other traditional social dances from around the world. These dances are all called and do not require leading.
Desired Learning Outcomes:
The successful student will:
Prerequisites:
Wear comfortable clothes, and shoes that will not mark the floor. No partner required.
Instructor:
Martin J. Mohlenkamp, mohlenka@ohio.edu, (740)593-1259, 315-B Morton Hall. Assisted by Adriane Mohlenkamp and guest instructors.
Web page:
http://www.ohio.edu/people/mohlenka/20101/PED113.
Class hours/ location:
MW 7:10-8pm in E216 Grover Center.
Grade/ Attendance:
This class is graded credit (CR) or fail (F). To receive credit, you must have no more than two unexcused absences. All excused absences, e.g. medical, athletic activity, must be documented. You can make up an absence by attending one of the community dances on the schedule (there will be a sign-in sheet).
Special Needs:
If you have specific physical, psychiatric, or learning disabilities and require accommodations, please let me know as soon as possible so that your learning needs may be appropriately met.
Resources:
  • Southeast Ohio Traditional Dance Society
  • Contra dance video
  • Schedule

    Subject to change. The blank days will be filled in with some of: Indonesian dance, Indian dance, Danish dance, Square dancing, or others.
    Week Day/ Date Dance
    1 Wednesday September 9 American Contra-style circles
    Saturday September 12 Optional: Community Contra Dance 7:30pm Baker 240
    2 Monday September 14 American Contra-style circles
    Wednesday September 16 American Contra, short line dances
    3 Monday September 21 American Contra (drop deadline Tuesday)
    Wednesday September 23 American Contra, improper line dances
    4 Monday September 28 Irish ceilidh
    Wednesday September 30 Irish ceilidh
    5 Monday October 5 Scottish country dance
    Wednesday October 7 Scottish country dance
    Saturday October 10 Optional: Community Contra Dance 7:30pm Baker 240
    6 Monday October 12 Israeli folk dance (drop deadline)
    Wednesday October 14 English Country dance
    7 Monday October 19 Israeli folk dance
    Wednesday October 21 English Country dance
    8 Monday October 26 American Swing
    Wednesday October 28
    9 Monday November 2 American Swing
    Wednesday November 4
    10 Monday November 9 American Contra
    Wednesday November 11 Veteran's day, no class
    Saturday November 14 Optional: Community Contra Dance 7:30pm Baker 240
    11 Monday November 16 Surprise

    Martin J. Mohlenkamp
    Last modified: Fri Sep 3 13:54:56 EDT 2010