PED 113 A01(07367), Spring 2009

Country Dance

Catalog Description:
These courses are for students wishing to gain competency in a physical activity. Courses are offered on a pass/fail basis.
Desired Learning Outcomes:
We will learn traditional social dances from North America, Europe and other cultures, including: American contras, circles and short line dances; English and Scottish country dances; Irish ceilidh; Israeli folk dances; and maybe others. The emphasis is on fun and physical activity, with basic dance techniques.
Prerequisites:
Wear comfortable clothes, and shoes that will not mark the floor. No partner required.
Instructor:
Martin J. Mohlenkamp, mohlenka@ohio.edu, (740)593-1259, 315-B Morton Hall. Assisted by David Mould, Adriane Mohlenkamp, and guest instructors.
Web page:
http://www.ohio.edu/people/mohlenka/20093/PED113.
Class hours/ location:
MW 7:10-8pm in E216 Grover Center.
Grade/ Attendance:
This class is graded credit (CR) or fail (F). To receive credit, you must have no more than two unexcused absences. All excused absences, e.g. medical, athletic activity, must be documented. You can make up an absence by attending one of the community dances on the schedule (there will be a sign-in sheet).
Special Needs:
If you have specific physical, psychiatric, or learning disabilities and require accommodations, please let me know as soon as possible so that your learning needs may be appropriately met.
Resources:
  • Southeast Ohio Traditional Dance Society
  • Contra dance video
  • Schedule

    Subject to change. We may also/instead do some squares, english country, or medieval.
    Week Day/ Date Dance
    1 Monday March 30 American Contra-style circles
    Wednesday April 1 American Contra-style circles
    2 Monday April 6 American Contra, short line dances
    Wednesday April 8 American Contra, improper line dances
    Saturday April 11 Optional: Community Contra Dance
    3 Monday April 13 American Contra (drop deadline)
    Wednesday April 15 American Contra
    4 Monday April 20 Irish ceilidh
    Wednesday April 22 Irish ceilidh
    5 Monday April 27 American Swing
    Wednesday April 29 American Swing
    6 Monday May 4 Scottish country dance
    Wednesday May 6 Scottish country dance
    Saturday May 9 Optional: Community Contra Dance
    7 Monday May 11 Israeli folk dance
    Wednesday May 13 Indonesian dance
    8 Monday May 18 Israeli folk dance
    Wednesday May 20 Indonesian dance
    Saturday and Sunday May 23-24 Optional: Community Contra Dance Weekend
    9 Monday May 25 Memorial Day, no class
    Wednesday May 27 Danish dance
    10 Monday June 1 Danish dance
    Wednesday June 3 Surprise

    Martin J. Mohlenkamp
    Last modified: Fri Sep 3 13:54:50 EDT 2010