Description: speech


Speech Processing Lab Home > People

Lab Director: Chao-Yang Lee 李照陽

Description: Macintosh HD:Users:leechaoyang:Pictures:iPhoto Library:Originals:2012:Jul 8, 2012:IMG_3370.JPG



Chao-Yang Lee is an Associate Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders at Ohio University. He holds a Ph.D. in Cognitive Science from Brown University, A.M. in Linguistics from Brown University, and B.S. in Psychology from National Chengchi University.  Lee was awarded the F.V. Hunt Fellowship from the Acoustical Society of America for postdoctoral training in the Speech Communication Group at MITs Research Laboratory of Electronics.


Lee’s research explores the contribution of phonetic and cognitive knowledge to speech perception and spoken word recognition, particularly pertaining to the processing of lexical tones. He has also been engaged in collaborative projects with colleagues in hearing science, psychology, linguistics, and music. See Publications for a list of his published work. He is currently serving as an editorial board member for Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research (2017).


Lee has taught phonetics, speech science, introduction to communication disorders, experimental phonetics, and speech science seminars at Ohio University. His teaching has been recognized by the University Professor award (2006-07) at Ohio University and the Excellence in Education program of the Ohio Magazine. Read more about Lee from Ohio University’s Undergraduate Admissions web site.


Lee is CSD’s Coordinator of Undergraduate Education and the Director of Studies for the Honors Tutorial College program in Communication Sciences and Disorders at Ohio University.


Lee enjoys classical music, vegetarian diet and cooking, yoga, and following the New England Patriots. He is a father of two beautiful children and a proud owner of two Priuses (’04 and ’13).


Chao-Yang Lee CV (January 2017)

Current Lab Students

Yu Zhang 张宇, Ph.D. student

Maggie Harrison, MA-SLP student

Sarah Vickers, undergraduate student

Macie Petrich, undergraduate student

Madeline Petrich, undergraduate student

Lab Alumni

Lauren DePaoli (BS HTC/HSLS 2004)

Georgia Malandraki (MA SLP 2004)

Amanda Joos (MA SLP 2005)

Carla Youngdahl (MA SLP 2005)

Sara Kellgreen (MA SLP 2006)

Jessica Baker (MA SLP 2007)

Anne Marie Christy (MA SLP 2008)

Gayatri Ram (MA SLP 2009)

Lauren Dutton (MA SLP 2010)

Jessica Stillwell (BS HSLS 2010)

Elizabeth Jordan (BS HSLS 2010; 2009 PURF winner)

Yuh-Fang Lee 李郁芳 (MA SLP 2011)

Megan Masterson (MA SLP 2011)

Eleni Gkikas (BS HSLS 2011)

Juliana Gursky (MA SLP 2012)

Lauren Baer (BS CSD 2012)

Allison Lekich (BS CSD 2012; 2011 PURF winner)

Eric Morris (MA SLP 2015)

Jessica Gottschick (BS CSD 2014)

Ali Patton (BS CSD 2015)

Alicia Swain (BS CSD/Psychology 2015; PACE student, 2015-16 Fulbright Scholar]

Megan Smith (BS HTC/CSD 2016; 2014 PURF, CHSP Student Research Award winner)

Maggie Harrison (BS HTC/CSD 2016; 2015 PURF, CHSP Student Research Award winner]

Jieun Lee (Ph.D. student 2014-16)

Thea Nihiser (MA SLP 2017)


Description: panConvo_1