OIT Tech 32px
security_4

Social Networking Website Safety

  • Do not display personal information on any social networking account. Even if your settings are private, your personal information can be viewed by dangerous individuals.
  • Remember, you can always add more information to your online accounts, but you can never completely take it away once it has been posted on the internet.
  • Only accept friend requests from individuals you actually know.
  • Review the privacy policy when you sign up for each website and check your privacy settings frequently. Social networking websites change their settings often and you will need to update to maintain the same level of privacy.
  • Make sure your computer is protected before logging into social networking websites.
  • Use strong passphrases and do not share your log-in information with anyone.
  • Do not click on advertisements.
  • Check with your friends before opening a link that appears to be sent from their account. Phishing attacks are prevalent on social networking websites and your friend may have been hacked.
  • Think before you post about your current or future location. Criminals can follow your updates and, therefore, can find you in a vulnerable position. Also, be vague about travel dates so people don't know when your house is going to be unoccupied.
  • If you click on a link and it asks you to reenter your log-in information, don't. Retype the web address in order to determine if you have been logged out and actually need to log into your account again.
  • Be careful with third-party applications, such as games and online polls or quizzes. Many ask for access to private information that should not be required to use the application.
  • Do not post pictures that you will later regret. Once something is posted, it is on the internet forever. Also, do not post comments complaining about your current or past employers. Potential employers and universities may check your social networking accounts.
  • Your friends may post information, pictures, or other data about you. If you do not want these posts public, ask your friends to remove it.