OIT Tech 32px
deco-circuit-banner-grn

Checking Your Quota

To submit an FAQ about Exchange quotas, visit http://www.ohio.edu/oitech.

How does Exchange affect my quota?

There are three levels to your Exchange quota:

  • 80% - An email warning is issued to the user. No functionality is impacted.

  • 95% - An email warning is issued to the user. The user is prohibited from sending mail.

  • 100% - An on-screen error is issued to the user. The user is prohibited from sending and receiving mail.

      For employees:

  • 819MB - An email warning is issued to the user. No functionality is impacted.

  • 973MB - An email warning is issued to the user. The user is prohibited from sending mail.

  • 1024MB (1GB) - An on-screen error is issued to the user. The user is prohibited from sending and receiving mail.

      For graduate students:

  • 230MB - An email warning is issued to the user. No functionality is impacted.

  • 243MB - An email warning is issued to the user. The user is prohibited from sending mail.

  • 256MB - An on-screen error is issued to the user. The user is prohibited from sending and receiving mail.

How do I identify large emails?

 If you are having trouble staying below quota, it may be useful for you to locate large message attachments which are clogging up your mailbox. Email messaging systems are not designed to be a primary file repository. If you find that you have several messages with large attachments, you can search for these messages and move the attachments to the appropriate file storage location. To do so:

  1. Open the Outlook Client.

  2. Go to the Search Folders below the *Sent Items* folder and click on the Large Mailsearch folder.  This will show all messages larger than 500 KB.  It will also sort it from "Very Large (500 KB- 1 MB" to "Huge (1 - 5 MB)" to "Enormous (>5 MB)".

  3. Open each message where a large attachment resides, right click on the attachment and choose "Save as", browse to your file location and select "Save".

  4. Right click on the attachment again and select "Remove".

  5. When you close the message you will be prompted to save changes, select yes.