Skip to: Main Content Search Main Navigation Audience Navigation
geog_faculty_2015

Faculty and Staff

 

The research and teaching interests of the faculty spans a broad range of systematic, technical, and regional specializations. Primary areas include the following: Environmental Geography (environmental assessment, analysis and management; conservation; environmental planning); Nature‐Society Relationships (human‐environment interactions; cultural and political ecology); Geospatial Techniques (geographic information science; cartography and geovisualization; remote sensing); Regional Development Studies (rural livelihoods; the developing world; gender issues; Latin America; Southeast Asia; Sub‐Saharan Africa; North America); Physical Geography (biogeography; geomorphology; meteorology and climatology).


Faculty

anderson
Dr. Timothy G. Anderson, Associate Professor
Clippinger 118
anderst1@ohio.edu
740.593.0141


Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 2:00-4:00 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Cultural, historical, world systems, ethnicity

buckley_2015
Dr. Geoffrey L. Buckley, Professor and Undergraduate Chair
Clippinger 104A
buckleyg@ohio.edu
740.593.9846


Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 2:00-4:00 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Environmental, historical, mining landscapes, urban environments 

dyer_newest_outside
Dr. James M. Dyer, Professor and Chair
Clippinger 122A
dyer@ohio.edu
740.593.1138


Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 3:00-4:00, Wednesdays (9:30-11:30) or by appointment
Research Interests:

Biogeography, landscape ecology, forest dynamics

fogt
Dr. Ryan Fogt, Associate Professor and Scalia Lab Director
Clippinger 113 and Scalia Lab Clippinger 402B
fogtr@ohio.edu
740.593.1151


Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays 2:00-4:00 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Polar meteorology and climatology, climate variability and change, stratosphere - troposphere interactions

houser
Dr. Jana Houser, Assistant Professor
Clippinger 145
houserj@ohio.edu
740.593.1124


Office Hours: Mondays and Tuesdays 1:00-3:00 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Observations of formation and evolution of tornadoes, supercell thunderstorms, radar studies, severe weather climatology.

 

jokisch2
Dr. Brad D. Jokisch, Associate Professor
Clippinger 114
jokisch@ohio.edu
740.593.1143


Office Hours: Sabbatical 2014-15
Research Interests:

Cultural/political ecology agriculture, population, migration, Latin America

kim
Dr. Yeong-Hyun Kim, Associate Professor
Clippinger 105B
kimy1@ohio.edu
740.593.9179


Office Hours: Monday-Thursday 10:40-11:40 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Globalization, economic geography, urban geography, Asia

lein
Dr. James K. Lein, Professor
Clippinger 107
lein@ohio.edu
740.593.1147


Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 12:40-2:00 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Environmental assessment, land resource analysis, applied physical, remote sensing, GIS 

lynch_amy_2
Dr. Amy Lynch, Assistant Professor
Clippinger 103A
lyncha@ohio.edu
740.593.1100


Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays 3:00-5:00 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Land use and environmental planning, green infrastructure, sustainable community strategies and indicators

perkins
Dr. Harold Perkins, Associate Professor
Clippinger 109
perkinsh@ohio.edu
740.593.9896


Research Interests:

Political ecology/economy of urban environments including neoliberalization, the state, governance, voluntarism, and the agency of nonhuman organisms 

sack
Dr. Dorothy Sack, Professor and Graduate Chair
Clippinger 108
sack@ohio.edu
740.593.1149


Office Hours: Tuesdays 9:30-11:30, Wednesdays 3:00-5:00 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Physical geography, geomorphology, Quaternary studies, paleolakes, arid lands, history of geomorphology 

sinha
Dr. Gaurav Sinha, Associate Professor
Clippinger 105A
sinhag@ohio.edu
740.593.0304 or 740.743.7188


Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays 10:15-11:50 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Geospatial ontology, environmental data modeling, landscape analysis, PPGIS 

smucker
Dr. Thomas Smucker, Assistant Professor
Clippinger 111
smucker@ohio.edu
740.593.1152


Office Hours: Tuesdays 10:00-12:00, Fridays 1:00-3:00 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Environment and development, land tenure systems, rural livelihood and coping strategies, African drylands 

wangui
Dr. E. Edna Wangui, Associate Professor
Clippinger 106
wangui@ohio.edu
740.593.1097


Office Hours: Monday 10:50-11:50, 3-4; Tuesdays and Thursdays 1:30-2:30 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Gender, rural livelihoods and landscape change in East Africa 

whitson
Dr. Risa Whitson, Associate Professor and Curriculum Chair
Clippinger 110 and 31 S. Court Street
whitson@ohio.edu
740.593.1144 and 740.593.4686 front desk


Office Hours: 31 S. Court Street: Mondays 1-3; Clippinger 110: Thursdays 3:00-4:30 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Gender and development, social geographies, informal sector, Argentina 

Part-time Faculty

corrigan
Michelle Corrigan, Instructor
Clippinger 149B
corrigam@ohio.edu


Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 6:00-7:30 pm or by appointment
ana mojica myers
Ana Mojica Myers, Instructor
Clippinger 103B
myersa1@ohio.edu


Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays 1:10-3:10 or by appointment
shostak
Robert J. Shostak, Esq., Assistant Professor
Shostak Law Office, 8 North Court Street, Suite 506
shostakr@ohio.edu
740.593.9848


Office Hours: By appt M-F 10-3

Staff

grubb_tim_new
Tim Grubb, I.T. Support Specialist
Clippinger 149C
grubbt1@ohio.edu
740.593.1103


Office Hours: GEOG mornings GEOL afternoons
Patti Malloy, Administrative Associate
Clippinger 122
malloyp@ohio.edu
740.593.1140

Emeriti Faculty

Nancy Bain, Ph.D., U. of Minnesota


Dr. Frank E. Bernard, Ph.D., U. of Wisconsin

Dr. Ronald Isaac, Ph.D., Southern Illinois U., Carbondale


Dr. Bob J. Walter, Ph.D., U. of Wisconsin

Dr. Hubert G.H. Wilhelm, Ph.D., Louisiana State U.

Dr. Lynden S. Williams, Ph.D., U. of Kansas

 

 

UNIVERSITY PROFESSOR AWARD

   Ryan Fogt (2015-16)

 

OUTSTANDING TEACHER AWARDS

Jeanette G. Grasselli Brown Faculty Teaching Award Recipients
   Ryan Fogt (2014)
   Brad Jokisch (2013)
   Edna Wangui (2012)
   Geoff Buckley (2003)
   Ted Bernard (1991)

 

Dean's Outstanding Teaching Award Recipients
   Harold Perkins (2015)
   James Dyer (2008)
   Risa Whitson (2007)
   Yeong Kim (2006)
   Tim Anderson (2003)
   Dorothy Sack (2000)
   Bob Walter (1994)
   Hugh Wilhelm (1984)
   Ted Bernard (1983)