Skip to: Main Content Search Main Navigation Audience Navigation
geog_faculty_2013_14

Faculty and Staff

 

The research and teaching interests of the faculty spans a broad range of systematic, technical, and regional specializations. Primary areas include the following: Environmental Geography (environmental assessment, analysis and management; conservation; environmental planning); Nature‐Society Relationships (human‐environment interactions; cultural and political ecology); Geospatial Techniques (geographic information science; cartography and geovisualization; remote sensing); Regional Development Studies (rural livelihoods; the developing world; gender issues; Latin America; Southeast Asia; Sub‐Saharan Africa; North America); Physical Geography (biogeography; geomorphology; meteorology and climatology).


Faculty

anderson
Dr. Timothy G. Anderson, Associate Professor
Clippinger 118
anderst1@ohio.edu
740.593.0141


Office Hours: By appointment
Research Interests:

Cultural, historical, world systems, ethnicity

buckley
Dr. Geoffrey L. Buckley, Professor and Undergraduate Chair
Clippinger 104A
buckleyg@ohio.edu
740.593.9846


Office Hours: By appointment
Research Interests:

Environmental, historical, mining landscapes, urban environments 

dyer_newest_outside
Dr. James M. Dyer, Professor and Chair
Clippinger 122A
dyer@ohio.edu
740.593.1138


Office Hours: M W 10:40-11:40; T TH 9:30-10:30; or by appointment
Research Interests:

Biogeography, landscape ecology, forest dynamics

fogt
Dr. Ryan Fogt, Associate Professor and Scalia Lab Director
Clippinger 103A and Scalia Lab Clippinger 402B
fogtr@ohio.edu
740.593.1151


Office Hours: M W 2-4pm or by appointment
Research Interests:

Polar meteorology and climatology, climate variability and change, stratosphere - troposphere interactions

houser
Dr. Jana Houser, Assistant Professor
Clippinger 145
houserj@ohio.edu
740.593.1124


Office Hours: M 2-4; T 1-3; or by appointment
Research Interests:

Observations of formation and evolution of tornadoes, supercell thunderstorms, radar studies, severe weather climatology.

 

jokisch2
Dr. Brad D. Jokisch, Associate Professor
Clippinger 113
jokisch@ohio.edu
740.593.1143


Office Hours: T TH 2-4 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Cultural/political ecology agriculture, population, migration, Latin America

kim
Dr. Yeong-Hyun Kim, Associate Professor
Clippinger 105B
kimy1@ohio.edu
740.593.9179


Office Hours: M-TH 10:40-11:40 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Globalization, economic geography, urban geography, Asia

lein
Dr. James K. Lein, Professor
Clippinger 107
lein@ohio.edu
740.593.1147


Office Hours: T TH 9:30-10:30 & 2:50-3:50 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Environmental assessment, land resource analysis, applied physical, remote sensing, GIS 

perkins
Dr. Harold Perkins, Associate Professor
Clippinger 109
perkinsh@ohio.edu
740.593.9896


Office Hours: W TH 3-5 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Political ecology/economy of urban environments including neoliberalization, the state, governance, voluntarism, and the agency of nonhuman organisms 

rock_amy
Dr. Amy Rock, Visiting Assistant Professor
Clippinger 103B
rocka@ohio.edu
740-593-1116


Office Hours: T TH 8:15-10:15 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Rural community development, specifically in Appalachia; the use of GIS to enhance development initiatives; historical and cultural cartography. 

sack
Dr. Dorothy Sack, Professor and Graduate Chair
Clippinger 108
sack@ohio.edu
740.593.1149


Office Hours: M 4:30-6:30 pm; F 1-3 pm; or by appointment
Research Interests:

Physical geography, geomorphology, Quaternary studies, paleolakes, arid lands, history of geomorphology 

sinha
Dr. Gaurav Sinha, Assistant Professor
Clippinger 105A
sinhag@ohio.edu
740.593.0304 or 740.743.7188


Office Hours: MWF 12:30-2:00 or by appointment
Research Interests:

Geospatial ontology, environmental data modeling, landscape analysis, PPGIS 

smucker
Dr. Thomas Smucker, Assistant Professor
Clippinger 111
smucker@ohio.edu
740.593.1152


Office Hours: M 3:00-5:00; W 10:45-12:45; or by appointment
Research Interests:

Environment and development, land tenure systems, rural livelihood and coping strategies, African drylands 

wangui
Dr. E. Edna Wangui, Associate Professor
Clippinger 106
wangui@ohio.edu
740.593.1097


Office Hours: M 1:30-3:00; T 12:00-1:30; TH 1:00-2:00; or by appointment
Research Interests:

Gender, rural livelihoods and landscape change in East Africa 

whitson
Dr. Risa Whitson, Associate Professor and Curriculum Chair
Clippinger 110 and Lindley 023
whitson@ohio.edu
740.593.1144 and 740.593.4686 front desk


Office Hours: 31 S. Court St: W 2-4pm; Clippinger 110: TH 3-5pm; or by appointment
Research Interests:

Gender and development, social geographies, informal sector, Argentina 

Part-time Faculty

nbain
Dr. Nancy R. Bain, Professor Emerita
Clippinger 117
bainn@ohio.edu
740.593.1140

dyer_m
Dr. Mary Dyer, Assistant Professor
dyerm@ohio.edu

isaac
Dr. Ronald H. Isaac, Assistant Professor Emeritus
Clippinger 117
isaacr@ohio.edu
740.593.1140


Office Hours: T TH 12:05-3:05 or by appointment
shostak
Robert J. Shostak, Esq.
Shostak Law Office, 8 North Court Street, Suite 506
shostakr@ohio.edu
740.593.9848

Staff

grubb_tim_new
Tim Grubb, I.T. Support Specialist
Clippinger 149C
grubbt1@ohio.edu
740.593.1103

meeks_a
Amy Meeks, Administrative Associate
Clippinger 122
meeksa@ohio.edu
740.593.1140

Emeriti Faculty

Nancy Bain, Ph.D., U. of Minnesota


Dr. Frank E. Bernard, Ph.D., U. of Wisconsin

Dr. Ronald Isaac, Ph.D., Southern Illinois U., Carbondale


Dr. Bob J. Walter, Ph.D., U. of Wisconsin

Dr. Hubert G.H. Wilhelm, Ph.D., Louisiana State U.

Dr. Lynden S. Williams, Ph.D., U. of Kansas

 

 

 
OUTSTANDING TEACHER AWARDS

 

Jeanette G. Grasselli Brown Faculty Teaching Award Recipients
   Brad Jokisch (2013)
   Edna Wangui (2012)
   Geoff Buckley (2003)
   Ted Bernard (1991)

 

Dean's Outstanding Teaching Award Recipients
   James Dyer (2008)
   Risa Whitson (2007)
   Yeong Kim (2006)
   Tim Anderson (2003)
   Dorothy Sack (2000)
   Bob Walter (1994)
   Hugh Wilhelm (1984)
   Ted Bernard (1983)