Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation

Early Childhood

Undergraduate Only

The Early Childhood Education (ECE) program is Nationally Recognized by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC). The ECE program leads to P-3 (Prekindergarten – Grade Three) licensure in the State of Ohio. The Bachelor of Science in Education (B.S.Ed.) is awarded to successful program completers upon graduation from the ECE program in The Patton College of Education.

Ohio University students, who are interested in pursuing the B.S.Ed. in ECE, enter their program-of-study as non-degree students. Upon meeting criteria for selective admission into the ECE program, successful ECE teacher candidates begin their professional sequence of courses in Partnership Schools on the Athens Campus.

  • Click Here to read about ECE Professional Development School Partnerships in The Patton College.
  • Click Here to read about the Child Development Center.

Advisors are available to guide students every step of the way as they pursue their personal goals of becoming highly competent teachers of children in P-3 settings or practitioners supporting families and children in birth to prekindergarten settings.

  • Click HERE to view more information about the B.S.Ed. (Early Childhood Education) major.
  • Click HERE to view more information about the A.A.S. (Child Development) major.
     

Consult your Academic Advisor for advising and information about “next steps.”

  • Click to view and save the Early Childhood Education Program Application Form.

Program Coordinators:

Jeesun Jung, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
The Patton College of Education
Grover Center E174
740-597-3346
jungj@ohio.edu

Mary Barbara Trube, Ed.D.
Professor of Education
The Patton College of Education
Child Development and Family Service Center, Room 120
Ohio University – Chillicothe Campus
740-772-7360 Extension 120
trube@ohio.edu

Athens Campus Advisors:
Eugene Geist, geist@ohio.edu
Jeesun Jung, jungj@ohio.edu
Laura Wentworth, ECE@ohio.edu


Regional Campus ECE Coordinators:

Chillicothe Campus:
Mary Barbara Trube, trube@ohio.edu

Eastern Campus:
Paula McMurray Schwarz, mcmurray@ohio.edu

Lancaster Campus:
Quiping Cao, cao@ohio.edu

Southern Campus:
Linda Mann, mann@ohio.edu

Zanesville Campus:
Hannah Nissen, nissen@ohio.edu

 

 

 

 

YouTube
Facebook
Twitter