Visitors to the Eastern Campus can step back in time by touring the Great Western Schoolhouse. This one-room schoolhouse, listed on the National Register for Historic Places, is located on National Road, west of the Ohio University –Eastern’s main driveway. Visitors of all ages are welcome. Please arrange your tour by calling Ohio University – Eastern Campus at 740.695.1720.
Above: Over 300 children visit the 1870 schoolhouse each Spring and take part in spelling and arithmetic exercises using old-fashioned slates and slate-writers.
Above: The Great Western Schoolhouse was closed in 1952. In 1976, the empty building was in dire need of repair. The National Trail Chapter of Questers headed a restoration project with permission from Ohio University. At that point, the wooden students’ seats, seen above, were donated by another local school. The flag hanging above the chalkboard was donated back to the schoolhouse in 1976 at the completion of the restoration. It was actually the flag that one of the students kept as memorabilia when the schoolhouse closed in 1952.