Ohio University is open; the transformer failure that temporarily closed the West Union Street Office Center on Wednesday has been fixed. The building will reopen for business on Thursday morning.

OIT Tech Support can still be reached by calling 3-1222. More Information

Featured Stories

Honorary degree nominations sought

On Friday, Distinguished Professor of Physics David Drabold sent the following email to the campus community seeking honorary degree nominations:

Dear Ohio University Community,

On behalf of the Honorary Degree committee, I am seeking your suggestions for candidates to receive honorary degrees from Ohio University. Recognition with an Honorary Degree is understood to be a very substantial honor. As stated on the Honorary Degree Committee page:

"Honorary degrees are awarded annually to individuals who have achieved distinction in scholarship, creative activities, professional pursuits, business, governmental, civic affairs, or particularly in service to Ohio University. While candidates from any field will be considered, persons who have attained broad recognition in education rank high among potential nominees. Outstanding benefactors of the University or distinguished alumni are also among those to be given special attention."

Further details about Honorary Degrees and the process of evaluation are provided here:

A form is provided on this web page for nominations.
The deadline for submissions is Feb. 20, 2013. Should you have questions about a nomination, feel free to contact any of the committee members:
The committee members this year are:

•  David Drabold, drabold@ohio.edu
•  Thomas Carpenter, carpentt@ohio.edu
•  Damian Nance, nance@ohio.edu
•  Mona Robinson, robinsoh@ohio.edu
•  Li Teng, teng@ohio.edu
•  Pronoy Roi, nunn@ohio.edu
•  Tracy Lee, tl236610@ohio.edu
•  Connie Romine, romine@ohio.edu 

We appreciate your help!

David Drabold
Distinguished Professor of Physics
Chair, Honorary Degree Committee