High School StudentsTransfer StudentsInternational StudentsGraduate StudentsAbout Russ CollegeAdvisory BoardsAlumniCalendar of EventsCooperative EducationEmployersGiving to the Russ CollegeMinority ProgramsRobe Leadership InstituteThe Russ Prize
chemical-tabspaceAbout the CenterActivitiesRelated LinksPeople
Russ Professor Gerardine Botte leads team which wins instrumentation grant for $1,670,463 to purchase Transmission Electron Microscope
An Ohio University team led by Dr. Gerardine Botte, Russ Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, was recently awarded a $1,169,325 MRI (Major Research Instrumentation) grant from the National Science Foundation for a project entitled “MRI: Acquisition of Transmission Electron Microscope for Advanced Materials Relating to Energy Storage, Alternative Energy, Remediation, and Superconductors.”  Ohio University provided matching funding in the amount of $501,138, resulting in a total proposal amount of $1,670,463.  This three-year grant, starting on September 1, 2011, will allow Ohio University to purchase and maintain a cutting edge materials characterization research tool ideally suited for nanoscale science and engineering applications.  This new cutting edge instrument will be housed in its own laboratory space, which will include extensive sample preparation facilities and support equipment.  The award is a university wide project including researchers from various colleges and programs across the Ohio University campus.

Dr. Botte will focus her use of the TEM in three areas:  coal electrolysis for the production of hydrogen and liquid fuels, and synthesis of carbon nanostructures from coal; development of electrocatalysts for ammonia and urea electrolysis; and exfoliated Nickel-based hydroxide nanosheets for urea electrolysis.  Dr. Sunggyu Lee, a Russ Ohio Research Scholar from the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, will concentrate on the development of an efficient catalytic system for conversion of CO2-rich gas into methanol and the development of polymeric nanocomposites and compatiblized blends for specialty properties.  Dr. Paul G Van Patten from the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry will use the TEM to scrutinize the stabilization of charge-separated states through structural tuning of nanoheterostructures.  Dr. Saw-Wai Hla of the Dept. of Physics and Astronomy will investigate molecular films for electronics, spintronics, and energy harvesting applications.  Dr. Savas Kaya of the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science will work on ultrasmall Pt/Au/Ag/Ni nanowires for catalytic and sensing applications, and on metalorganic chemical vapor deposition (MOCVD) grown InxGa1-xN heterostructures for water splitting and optoelectronic devices.  Other major users in the MRI program are Dr. Natalie Kruse (Environmental Studies), Dr. Wojciech M. Jadwisienczak (Electrical Engineering and Computer Science), Dr. Gang Chen (Physics and Astronomy), Dr. Eric Masson (Chemistry and Biochemistry), and Dr. David Ingram (Physics and Astronomy).

Center for Electrochemical Engineering Research
Russ College of Engineering and Technology
165 Stocker Center
Ohio University
Athens, OH 45701
Tel: (740) 593-9670

All Rights Reserved