Since Ohio University assesses your tuition costs based on your status as an in-state or out-of-state resident, the following general information is included to help you determine your residency status. The complete policy on Ohio Residency is included for your reference in the appendix. Further information is also available from the University Examiner in the Office of Admissions.
Lifelong Learning Fees Schedule of Pro-Rata Refunds Schedule of Non Pro-Rata Refunds
In general, for University fee purposes, if you are a dependent of your parents, your residency is determined by theirs. If you are independent you may be considered an Ohio resident for university fee purposes if: (1) you have lived in the state of Ohio for the previous 12 consecutive months; (2) you are totally self supported from income you have derived from within the state of Ohio and have subjected that income to Ohio taxation; (3) you are a resident of the state of Ohio for all other legal purposes (i.e., driver's license, voter's registration, car registration)
If your residency status has changed from out-of-state to in-state, you must file a residency petition (complete with documentation to verify your statements) with the Office of Admissions, and your petition must be approved before a change will be made in your residency status. Note: The residency petition must be filed before the last day to register for class in order for it to be effective for that quarter. The University will then make a decision on your residency status. Residency decisions are never retroactive to previous quarters.
2001-2002(*) comprehensive fees for a quarter course load of 11-20 hours, inclusive:
LD=Lower Division-96 or fewer hours earned
UD=Upper Division-greater than 96 hours earned
Ohio Resident Nonresident Athens campus $1,831.00 $3,854.00 Regional campuses (LD) 1,082.00 2,776.00 Regional campuses (UD) 1,173.00 2,867.00 Southern campus (LD) 996.00 1,216.00 Southern campus (UD) 1,079.00 1,299.00
The extra fee for each quarter hour in excess of 20 hours:
Ohio Resident Nonresident Athens campus $83.00 $186.00 Regional campuses (LD) 54.00 139.00 Regional campuses (UD) 59.00 143.00 Southern campus (LD) 50.00 61.00 Southern campus (UD) 54.00 65.00
The fee for each hour of enrollment from 1 to 10 hours, inclusive:
Ohio Resident Nonresident
Athens campus $176.00 $376.00 Regional campuses (LD) 99.00 268.00 Regional campuses (UD) 107.00 276.00 Southern campus (LD) 91.00 111.00 Southern campus (UD) 99.00 119.00
*2001-2002 fees were not available at time of printing.
Credit card payments are accepted at regional cmpuses for regional campus students only. Credit card payments can also be made using CASHnet SMARTPAY (http://www.cashnetsmartpay.com/ohio/.) This is a service that allows you to pay your University charges on the internet. A service charge based on the transaction amount will be assessed.
You must pay your fees by the stated deadlines or risk a $100 late payment charge. Post-dated checks are not accepted, and checks issued to the university and not paid upon presentation to the bank will automatically cancel any receipts given and result in the assessment of penalties.
Fees for tuition include the instructional fee and the general fee. This figure excludes fees for special courses, such as art, aviation, education, human and consumer sciences, journalism, music, recreation and sports sciences, and visual communication, which are listed in the quarterly Schedule of Classes. Ohio University reserves the right to make, without prior notice, any fee adjustments that may become necessary.
Full-time students with majors in the Russ College of Engineering and Technology, the College of Business, and the College of Communication (excluding journalism majors) will be assessed a fee for computing and other types of technology (regardless of class schedule). The fee for the Russ College of Engineering and Technology is $100 per quarter. The fee for the College of Business is $60 per quarter. The fee for the College of Communication is $75 per quarter. Part-time students will be assessed a pro-rated fee.
Unless your registration has been delayed by the University, you will be charged a fee for late registration beginning with the third calendar week of each quarter. The fee is $40 the third week, $60 the fourth week, $80 the fifth week, and $100 the sixth week. The last day to register with a late fee is Friday of the sixth calendar week of the quarter.
Quarterly Room and Board Fees (2002-2003(*)
$1,111 Standard Double 1,138 w/air cond.
917 Triple 939 w/air cond.
1,038 Quad 1,063 w/air cond.
1,366 Single 1,398 w/air cond.
780 7-Meal Plan
1,076 14-Meal Plan
1,148 20-Meal Plan
1,466 Super 20 Meal Plan
*2002-2003 fees were not available at time of printing.
Other Related Fees (2002-2003)
$40 Admission application fee, Athens campus (nonrefundable)
20 Admission application fee, regional campus (nonrefundable)
20 Special student application fee (nonrefundable)
10 Reclassification fee from special student to regular student status (Athens campus only)
5 Change of class schedule after second week
5 Duplicate official forms, fee receipts, etc.
40 Late registration fee (plus $20 per week after third week)
Application for degree
5 Reapplication for degree
490 Health insurance, annual premium
648 International health insurance, annual premium
50 Monthly payment plan (nonrefundable)
70 Orientation and testing fee
Parking per quarter
35 Commuter lot*2002-2003 fees were not available at time of printing.
55 On-campus lot
10 Parking violation
10 Returned check charge (per check)
5 Transcripts-Next Day Service
10 Transcripts-Now-Same Day Service
10 ID card replacement
10 Phone reactivation fee
15 Diploma replacement
If you are a full-time student (undergraduate over 10 hours, graduate over 8 hours), you are eligible to sign up for the Monthly Payment Plan. This plan equalizes your academic year's fees into nine monthly payments. This plan is not a loan program, and there is no interest charge on payments. You must apply for enrollment by mid-June for the coming year, and you are charged a $50 nonrefundable application fee. A $25 late fee will be assessed for payments received after the due dates.
If you withdraw from classes, the refund procedure is based on the assumption that all fees for the quarter have been paid. The refundable amount will be adjusted to recognize any unpaid monthly payments for the current quarter. Contact the Accounts Receivable Office, Chubb Hall 015, telephone 740-593-4128, to obtain an application for the Monthly Payment Plan.
University Refund Policy for Withdrawal
Ohio University refunds fees or credits your account 30 days after the date of withdrawal, according to the following schedule:
If you withdraw from the University before full payment of fees is made, you are considered indebted to the University for the amount determined according to the refund regulations. A hold will be placed on your records until your debt is paid.
Refund Policy for Reducing Course Load.
If you drop credit hours before or during the first 15 calendar days of the quarter, you are entitled to receive a 100 percent refund of the reduction when such changes result in a reduction of fees. For example, if you are registered for 11 hours and drop a 5-hour course, you will receive 100 percent of the difference in tuition for dropping from full-time to part-time. However, if you have 15 hours and drop to 11 hours, it does not affect the tuition, because the standard tuition rate applies to a course load of 11 through 20 hours. Course load reductions made after the 15th calendar day of the quarter will result in no refund. Corrected registration that results in increased hours could increase tuition. Further information regarding the refund of fees can be obtained from the registrar's office.
If it is determined that Title IV funds need to be returned, by Federal Law they will be returned in the following order: Unsubsidized Federal Stafford Loans, Subsidized Federal Stafford Loans, Unsubsidized Direct Loans, Subsidized Direct Loans, Perkins Loans, Federal PLUS Loans, Federal Pell Grant, Federal SEOG, and Other Title IV assistance.
State and Institutional Grants. If you receive financial aid that consists of state or University grant funds, they are subject to the University Refund Policy. If you officially withdraw during the first 15 calendar days of the quarter, 80% of the grant funds will be returned to the appropriate program. After the first 15 calendar days of the quarter, 100% of the grant funds will remain on your student account.
Undergraduate and Graduate Scholarships. If you receive financial aid that consists of undergraduate or graduate scholarships, they are subject to a Special University Policy. If you officially withdraw during the first 15 calendar days of the quarter, 100% of the scholarship funds will be returned to the appropriate program. After the first 15 calendar days of the quarter, 100% of the scholarship funds will remain on your student account.
Unofficial Withdrawals. If you stop attending the University and do not officially withdraw, it is considered to be an unofficial withdrawal and will be subject to the above Withdrawal Policies. The date of withdrawal will be the latest date based on a student's attendance at an academically-related event. If the last date of attendance is not known, the midpoint of the quarter will be used as the withdrawal date. If you never attend all of the courses you have registered for, you are considered to be an unofficial withdrawal. It is determined that you have not earned any financial aid. Therefore, all aid will be returned to the appropriate program.
A student is not eligible for a refund until all Federal Title IV programs and other grants and scholarships are reimbursed as required and all outstanding balances with the University have been cleared.
If you are receiving financial aid, a change in your enrollment status or your withdrawal from the University may result in your having to repay programs from which you received financial assistance. In addition, you may owe fees to the University after funds are returned to the financial aid programs.
Further information on this process is included under "Withdrawal Policy for Financial Aid Recipients" in the Financial Aid Information section of this catalog.
Lifelong Learning Fees (2002-2003 (*)
$95 Independent Study courses, each quarter hour
105 Independent Study projects, each quarter hour
50 Course Credit by Examination, each quarter hour
125 Application for external Student status
75 Yearly matriculation fee
175 Adult Learning Services, portfolio assessment fee (courses 1-6 hours)
40 Portfolio Administration fee
50 Preliminary evaluation fee
Note: Lifelong Learning fees are not part of the comprehensive fees, nor are the credit hours counted as part of the comprehensive credit hours.
*2002-03 fees were not available at time of printing.
University Advancement and Computer Services revised this file (http://www.ohiou.edu/catalog/02-03/general/fees.htm) on August 20, 2002.
Please E-mail comments or suggestions to "firstname.lastname@example.org."